Empowering Indigenous Women for stronger Communities

Support for Women’s Empowerment banner

The deadline for applications was June 1, 2016. Applications are currently being assessed. Applicants will be notified of the results as soon as they are available.

Status of Women Canada works to advance equality for women in Canada. One of the ways it does this is through the Women’s Program, which provides financial support to projects that focus on overcoming systemic barriers and changing the conditions that hinder gender equality.

It is generally recognized that “equality in decision-making is essential to the empowerment of women” (United Nations). According to the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the Convention on the Elimination of all forms of discrimination, Indigenous women have the right to participate in decision-making matters that would affect their rights. In addition, it emphasizes that women and men have equal rights to participate in politics and public affairs, and to represent their communities and countries”. When women participate fully in public life, we all benefit from the diversity of perspectives, talent and experience they contribute.

Status of Women Canada is soliciting proposals for projects that will empower Indigenous women to engage with their communities to address issues affecting them or hindering their advancement in all aspects of life.

A community can be on or off reserve and can be defined by a geographic location (local, regional, national), a treaty, a band, a tribal council, and/or a regional government.

Proposed projects will engage women and a range of community partners in working together to:

  • identify community issues affecting Indigenous women;
  • expand community understanding of these issues; and
  • take action, together with partners, to address the issues within their communities/regions or at the national level.

For the purposes of this Call for Proposals, public life is broadly defined to include various aspects of community life, including community/tribal/band council leadership, and other areas that strengthen the voice and influence of Indigenous women at the local, regional, and national levels on issues of importance to them and their communities.

Note: Some organizations may wish to include leadership training for women in their proposals; however this should not be the only or primary focus.

As part of the leadership training component for these projects, participants would also receive information and training on:

  • specific and broader issue(s) affecting Indigenous women, including systemic issues;
  • identification and analysis of the specific needs, priorities, viewpoints and potential strategies for addressing issues impacting Indigenous women and their communities;
  • engaging, educating and networking with stakeholders; and
  • effective collaborative action to address issues affecting Indigenous women.

In these cases, up to 50% of total requested funding for the project may be allotted to deliver direct leadership training to Indigenous women to prepare them for taking collaborative action to address one or more of the identified issues during the project.

Planned Results:

  • Indigenous women and communities have an increased understanding of issues affecting them and their communities.
  • Indigenous women and communities have gained and/or strengthened skills to identify and respond to issues affecting Indigenous women.
  • Indigenous women and communities are actively engaging and taking on leadership roles to address pressing issues in their communities.

Potential applicants should read the document Is the Women’s Program the right match for me? and the Eligibility Requirements for additional criteria. Status of Women Canada does not fund direct services to women. Please consult Women’s Program staff to determine whether a proposed project corresponds to the focus of the Women’s Program and the Call for Proposals.

Project Evaluation

Selected projects may be required to participate in an evaluation and in developing a common needs assessment.

Performance reporting as well as specific timelines will be determined after the proposed project has been approved.

Funding Available/Duration

Funding sought should be commensurate with the nature and scope of the proposal. For instance, projects taking place across Canada could seek funding in the range of $1.5M. Projects at a regional or provincial/territorial level should seek funding in an amount commensurate with this scope. Project duration should be a maximum of 36 months.

Optional: Joint Funding Opportunities

To facilitate partnerships and benefit from the expertise of others, organizations may come together as co-applicants to submit one project proposal. If this is the case, applications must be accompanied by a partnership agreement signed by all co-applicants describing:

  • the nature and scope of each co-applicant’s contribution (who is doing what),
  • the funding amount requested by each co-applicant (as funding agreements would be established between Status of Women Canada and each co-applicant). Funding requests by each co-applicant should reflect a budget commensurate with the nature and scope of the co-applicant’s proposed contribution to the larger initiative.
Date modified:

Outiller les femmes autochtones pour renforcer les communautés

Banière pour l'appel de proposition Soutenir l’autonomie des femmes

Cet appel s’est clos le 1er juin 2016. Nous procédons actuellement à l’évaluation des demandes reçues. Nous communiquerons les résultats aux organismes dès qu’une décision aura été prise.

Condition féminine Canada cherche à faire avancer l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes au Canada, notamment par son Programme de promotion de la femme. Ce programme finance des projets qui visent à éliminer les obstacles systémiques et à changer les conditions freinant l’accès des femmes à l’égalité.

Il est généralement admis que « l’égalité dans le processus décisionnel est essentielle à l’émancipation de la femme » (Nations Unies). La Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes affirment le droit des femmes autochtones de participer à la prise de décisions sur des questions qui peuvent concerner leurs droits, ainsi que de participer sur un pied d’égalité avec les hommes aux affaires publiques et politiques, et de représenter leur collectivité et leur pays. La participation pleine et entière des femmes à la vie publique élargit l’éventail des points de vue, expériences et talents mis à contribution.

Condition féminine Canada lance un appel de propositions en vue de financer des projets qui outilleront les femmes autochtones pour qu’elles travaillent avec leur communauté à éliminer les enjeux qui les touchent ou qui freinent leur avancement dans divers aspects de la vie.

La communauté peut se trouver à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur d’une réserve, correspondre à un lieu géographique (localité, région, pays), à une bande ou à un conseil tribal ou, encore, être circonscrite par un traité ou le territoire d’un gouvernement régional.

Les projets proposés devront mobiliser des femmes et une gamme de partenaires communautaires. Ensemble, ils chercheront à :

  • cerner des enjeux qui nuisent aux femmes autochtones dans la communauté;
  • approfondir la compréhension de ces enjeux au sein de la communauté;
  • mettre en œuvre des solutions en collaboration avec des partenaires, afin de régler les enjeux cernés dans la communauté, dans la région ou à l’échelle nationale.

Aux fins du présent appel de propositions, le terme vie publique est défini dans son sens large et comprend différentes facettes de la vie communautaire. Cela comprend le fait de siéger au conseil tribal ou au conseil de bande ou, encore, d’occuper un autre poste dans la communauté permettant de renforcer la voix et l’influence des femmes autochtones à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale sur les enjeux importants pour elles et pour leur communauté.

Note : Bien qu’il sera possible d’inclure dans les projets de la formation en leadership, celle-ci ne devrait pas s’avérer la seule ou ni même la principale activité du projet.

Toute activité de formation en leadership offerte dans le cadre des projets inclura des enseignements ou de l’information sur les sujets suivants :

  • un ou plusieurs grands enjeux qui touchent les femmes autochtones, y compris des enjeux systémiques;
  • définition et analyse des besoins, priorités et points de vue des femmes autochtones et de la communauté, ainsi que des stratégies envisageables pour répondre aux enjeux qui touchent les femmes autochtones et leur communauté;
  • la concertation, le réseautage et l’éducation des parties prenantes;
  • la collaboration efficace dans les dossiers touchant les femmes autochtones.

Dans ces cas, jusqu’à 50 % du projet pourrait être alloué à des activités de formation en leadership visant à préparer des femmes autochtones à s’engager dans une action concertée pour remédier à un ou plusieurs des enjeux identifiés pendant le projet.

Résultats attendus

  • Les femmes autochtones et la communauté comprennent mieux les enjeux qui les affectent.
  • Les femmes autochtones et la communauté ont acquis la capacité ou renforcé leur capacité de définir les enjeux qui touchent les femmes autochtones et d’apporter des réponses à ces enjeux.
  • Les femmes autochtones et la communauté se mobilisent et prennent en charge la résolution des questions urgentes qui les touchent.

Les organismes demandeurs devraient lire en premier lieu le document Le Programme de promotion de la femme est-il le bon choix pour moi? et les critères généraux d’admissibilité du Programme. Condition féminine Canada ne finance pas les services directs aux femmes. Veuillez communiquer avec le Programme de promotion de la femme pour vous assurer que votre proposition cadre avec ses objectifs et le thème du présent appel de propositions.

Évaluation des projets

On pourrait exiger que certains projets participent à une évaluation et à l’élaboration d’un cadre commun d’évaluation des besoins.

Les exigences de rapport et les échéanciers connexes seront déterminés une fois votre projet approuvé.

Financement offert et durée

Le montant demandé doit tenir compte de la nature et de l’envergure du projet proposé. Par exemple, un projet ayant une portée pan canadienne pourrait demander un financement de l’ordre de 1,5 M$. Pour un projet ayant une portée régionale ou provinciale/territoriale, on devrait demander un financement qui correspond à l’envergure du projet proposé. La durée maximale du projet ne devrait pas excéder 36 mois.

Optionnel : Possibilités de financement conjoint

Plusieurs organismes peuvent s’unir et présenter ensemble une demande de financement pour un même projet. Ceci leur permettra de mettre en commun leur expertise et facilitera le partenariat. Dans ce cas, la demande devra être accompagnée d’une entente de partenariat signée par tous les codemandeurs. La demande décrira :

  • la nature et la portée de la contribution de chacun (qui fait quoi);
  • le montant du financement demandé par chacun des codemandeurs (Condition féminine Canada conclura une entente de financement avec chacun d’eux).

Le montant demandé individuellement par les codemandeurs devrait tenir compte à la fois de la nature et de l’envergure de leur contribution respective au projet.

Date de modification :