Empowering Women for Political and Community Action

Support for Women’s Empowerment banner

We are no longer accepting applications for these themes. The deadline for applications was May 3, 2016. Applications are currently being assessed and all applicants can expect to receive a response by September.

Democratic Participation

For the purposes of this Call for Proposals, democratic participation is broadly defined to include the political and civic realms and those areas in between where women can influence public life and enhance the public discourse.

Status of Women Canada works to advance equality for women in Canada. One of the ways it does this is through the Women’s Program, which provides financial support to projects that focus on overcoming systemic barriers and changing the conditions that hinders gender equality.

Status of Women Canada is soliciting proposals for projects that increase women’s participation in the democratic and public life.

It is generally recognized that “equality in decision-making is essential to the empowerment of women” (United Nations), and that increasing and strengthening women’s leadership in public life can bring change and benefits to other areas and issues impacting women and all Canadians. When women participate fully in the public life of our country, we all benefit from the diversity of perspectives, talent and experience they contribute.

This call for proposals is designed to help create inclusive contexts that foster women’s active participation and leadership in the democratic and public life of the country, whether by: seeking and holding political office; advancing issues of importance to women; and/or using their expertise to influence the public discourse in Canadian society.

Project Objective

Project proposals will require organizations to come together as co-applicants to identify and overcome systemic barriers that lead to women’s under-representation in Canada’s democratic and public life.

Mandatory Project Elements

In the proposed projects, co-applicants may address various aspects of democratic participation, but must include, and will be assessed on, the following points:

  • focus on transforming the conditions that contribute to the under-representation of women in the democratic and public life of Canada;
  • work with confirmed key decision-makers and community leaders to enhance women’s representation in democratic and public life;
  • develop and maintain active and effective partnerships; and
  • use a multi-stakeholder approach to implement sustainable, joint strategic initiatives at the local, regional or national levels.

Theme 1 - Empowering Women for Political Action

In the proposed projects, co-applicants will engage women and institutional stakeholders to facilitate pathways for women to secure and advance in various political leadership roles, including creating inclusive spaces in various political domains. All proposals must be non-partisan and include a strong assessment and organizational reform component to help institutions and decision-makers strengthen women’s voices and influence, both in Canadian public life and in the public discourse (e.g. the representation of women politicians in the media).

Note: Some organizations may wish to include leadership training for women in their proposals; however this should not be the only or primary focus.

Funding for training (e.g. leadership, occupational or otherwise) as part of a proposed project will only be eligible provided that it is necessary to bring about systemic improvements.

As part of the leadership training component for these projects, participants must also receive information and training on:

  • specific and broader systemic issue(s) impacting women,
  • gender-based analysis,
  • engaging, educating and networking with stakeholders, and
  • effective collaborative action to address issues impacting women.

In these cases, up to 50% of proposed project budgets may be allotted to deliver direct leadership training to women in preparation for running for political office or taking on / continuing in elected official roles.

Planned Results:

  • Stakeholders have increased understanding of systemic barriers to women’s active participation in democratic and public life.
  • Through collaboration between partners maximize opportunities and implement effective solutions to identified barriers.
  • Stakeholders have implemented solutions to overcome systemic barriers that contribute to women’s under-representation in democratic and public life in Canada.

Theme 2 - Empowering Women for Community Action

In the proposed projects, co-applicants will engage women, partners and a range of other relevant stakeholders in action to increase public understanding and support on issues impacting women (e.g. examining women’s homelessness and implementing strategies to address its systemic causes). Projects will amplify the voices of women and enhance effectiveness of action taken to improve conditions for women. Specifically:

  • identify systemic issues impacting women, including key issue intersections (e.g. women’s economic insecurity is both a cause and an outcome of violence against women);
  • broaden understanding of these systemic issues (and how they are interconnected); and
  • work with partners to implement systemic solutions to these issues within their communities/regions or at the national level.

With a view to empowering women, projects may also engage women, institutions and decision-makers in conducting assessments and carrying out reforms to create inclusive democratic and public spaces for women. This includes projects that transform the conditions to strengthen the voice and influence of women in public life and in the public discourse (e.g. the under-representation of women leaders in the media).

Note: Some organizations may wish to include leadership training for women in their proposals; however this should not be the only or primary focus.

Funding for training (e.g. leadership, occupational or otherwise) as part of a proposed project will only be eligible provided that it is necessary to bring about systemic improvement.

As part of the leadership training component for these projects, participants would also receive information and training on:

  • specific and broader systemic issue(s) impacting women;
  • gender-based analysis;
  • engaging, educating and networking with stakeholders; and
  • effective collaborative action to address issues impacting women.

In these cases, up to 20% of proposed project budgets may be allotted to deliver leadership training to women to prepare them for taking collaborative action to address one or more of the identified issues within the life of the project.

Planned Results:

  • Stakeholders have increased understanding of systemic barriers to women’s active participation in democratic and public life in Canada.
  • Collaboration between partners maximizes opportunities and implements effective solutions to identified barriers.
  • Stakeholders have taken action to amplify the voices of women and implemented solutions to address an issue affecting women in Canada.

Potential applicants should read the document Is the Women’s Program the right match for me? and the Eligibility Requirements for additional criteria. Status of Women Canada does not fund direct services to women. Please consult Women’s Program officials to determine whether a proposed project corresponds to the focus of the Women’s Program and this Call for Proposals.

Project Evaluation

Selected projects may be required to participate in an evaluation and in developing a common needs assessment.

Performance reporting as well as specific timelines will be determined after the proposed project has been approved.

Funding Available/Duration

To facilitate multi-stakeholder approaches, co-applicants are required to apply jointly for funding to collaborate on and implement a larger, multi-party initiative. Be sure your application includes a description of how all proposed co-applicant efforts amount to a cohesive, larger, multi-party initiative.

An application must be accompanied by a signed (all co-applicants) partnership agreement clearly describing:

  • the nature and scope of each co-applicant’s contribution (who is doing what),
  • a brief collaborative strategy (how co-applicants will be working collectively) to be further elaborated in the early stages of initiative implementation, and
  • the amount of funding requested by each co-applicant.

Funding sought should be commensurate with the nature and scope of the proposal. For instance, projects taking place across Canada could seek funding in the range of $1.5M. Projects at a regional or provincial/territorial level should seek funding in an amount commensurate with this scope. Project duration should be a maximum of 36 months.

Date modified:

Outiller les femmes pour la vie politique et l’action communautaire

Banière pour l'appel de proposition Soutenir l’autonomie des femmes

Nous n'acceptons plus les demandes de financement pour ces thèmes. La date limite pour la présentation des demandes était le 3 mai 2016.

Participation démocratique

Aux fins du présent appel de propositions, la « participation démocratique » inclut la participation politique et civique ainsi que les formes connexes de participation qui permettent aux femmes d’exercer une influence dans la vie publique et d’enrichir le discours public au pays.

Condition féminine Canada cherche à faire avancer l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes au Canada, notamment par son Programme de promotion de la femme. Ce programme finance des projets qui visent à éliminer les obstacles systémiques et à changer les conditions freinant l’accès des femmes à l’égalité.

Condition féminine Canada lance un appel de propositions en vue de financer des projets qui feront progresser la participation démocratique des femmes.

Il est généralement admis que « l’égalité dans le processus décisionnel est essentielle à l’émancipation de la femme » (Nation Unies) et qu’une participation accrue des femmes à la vie démocratique et publique peut avoir des effets bénéfiques à plusieurs niveaux pour les femmes et la population canadienne en général. La participation pleine et entière des Canadiennes à la vie publique du pays élargit l’éventail des points de vue, expériences et talents mis à contribution.

Le présent appel de propositions vise à créer des conditions favorisant une participation active et un leadership accru des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique du pays, notamment à titre de candidates aux élections, de titulaires de charges politiques, de défenseuses de dossiers d’importance pour les femmes et d’expertes capables d’influencer le discours public au Canada.

Objectif des projets

Cet appel de propositions invite des organismes (codemandeurs) à travailler ensemble afin de cerner et d’éliminer les obstacles systémiques qui contribuent à la sous-représentation des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique au Canada.

Éléments obligatoires des projets

Les projets proposés peuvent cibler un ou plusieurs aspects de la participation démocratique des femmes, mais les codemandeurs doivent s’assurer d’inclure les éléments ci-dessous. L’évaluation des propositions reçues reposera sur ces éléments :

  • transformation des conditions qui contribuent à la sous-représentation des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique au Canada;
  • collaboration avec des responsables locaux et des décisionnaires clés afin d’accroître la représentation des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique au Canada;
  • établissement et maintien de partenariats actifs et efficaces;
  • utilisation d’une approche multipartite dans la mise en œuvre de projets stratégiques communs et durables à l’échelle locale, régionale ou nationale.

Thème 1 - Outiller les femmes pour la vie politique

Dans le cadre de ces projets, les codemandeurs travailleront avec des femmes et des partenaires institutionnels afin de faciliter l’intégration et la progression des femmes dans diverses fonctions politiques, notamment en créant des espaces inclusifs dans les différents domaines de la vie politique. Comme il s’agira de renforcer la voix et l’influence des femmes dans la vie publique et le discours public au Canada (p. ex., la représentation des politiciennes dans les médias), les projets devront inclure une solide composante d’analyse et de réforme organisationnelle. Ils devront aussi être non partisans.

Note : Bien qu’il sera possible d’inclure dans les projets certaines activités de formation en leadership, les organismes demandeurs ne devront pas faire de la formation le seul ou le principal objet de leur proposition.

La formation (p. ex., perfectionnement professionnel, formation en leadership ou autre) sera admissible si elle est essentielle aux changements systémiques visés.

Toute activité de formation en leadership offerte dans le cadre des projets inclura de la formation ou de l’information sur les sujets suivants :

  • un ou plusieurs grands enjeux systémiques qui touchent les femmes;
  • l’analyse comparative entre les sexes;
  • la concertation, le réseautage et l’éducation des parties prenantes;
  • la collaboration efficace en vue d’aborder des enjeux touchant les femmes.

On pourra allouer jusqu’à 50 % du budget proposé à des activités de formation visant à préparer des femmes à entrer en politique ou à briguer/exercer un poste élu.

Résultats attendus

  • Les parties prenantes comprendront mieux les obstacles systémiques à la participation active des femmes à la vie démocratique et publique.
  • Grâce à leur collaboration, les partenaires auront maximisé les opportunités et mis en œuvre des solutions efficaces pour éliminer les obstacles identifiés.
  • Les parties prenantes auront mis en œuvre des solutions afin d’éliminer les obstacles systémiques qui contribuent à la sous-représentation des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique au Canada.

Thème 2 - Outiller les femmes pour l’action communautaire

Dans le cadre de ces projets, les codemandeurs travailleront avec des femmes, des partenaires et un éventail d’intervenants à sensibiliser la population aux questions touchant les femmes (p. ex, l’itinérance chez les femmes et les stratégies requises pour remédier à ses causes systémiques). Ces projets amplifieront la voix des femmes et rehausseront l’efficacité des actions qui seront prises dans le but d’améliorer leur situation. Ils devront viser en particulier à :

  • cerner les enjeux systémiques qui ont une incidence sur les femmes, y compris les recoupements critiques entre ces enjeux (p. ex. l’insécurité économique des femmes est à la fois une cause et un effet de la violence faite aux femmes);
  • approfondir la compréhension de ces enjeux systémiques (et de leurs recoupements);
  • mettre en œuvre des solutions systémiques en collaboration avec des partenaires afin de remédier à ces enjeux à l’échelle locale, régionale ou nationale.

Dans le but d’autonomiser les femmes, les projets pourraient également mobiliser celles-ci, les institutions et les décisionnaires afin de mener les analyses et les réformes nécessaires pour créer des espaces publics et politiques inclusifs pour les femmes. Par exemple, il pourrait s’agir de transformer l’environnement actuel pour renforcer la voix et l’influence des femmes dans la vie démocratique et publique et le discours public au Canada (p. ex., remédier à la sous-représentation de femmes d’influence dans les médias).

Note : Bien qu’il sera possible d’inclure dans les projets certaines activités de formation en leadership, les organismes demandeurs ne devront pas faire de la formation le seul ou le principal objet de leur proposition.

On admettra la formation (p. ex., perfectionnement professionnel, formation en leadership ou autre) seulement si elle est essentielle aux changements systémiques visés.

Toute activité de formation en leadership offerte dans le cadre des projets inclura des enseignements ou de l’information sur les sujets suivants :

  • un ou plusieurs grands enjeux systémiques qui touchent les femmes;
  • l’analyse comparative entre les sexes;
  • la concertation, le réseautage et l’éducation des parties prenantes;
  • la collaboration efficace en vue d’aborder des enjeux touchant les femmes.

On pourra allouer jusqu’à 20 % du budget proposé à des activités de formation visant à préparer des femmes à s’engager dans une action concertée pour remédier à un ou plusieurs des enjeux identifiés pendant le projet.

Résultats attendus

  • Les parties prenantes comprendront mieux les obstacles systémiques à la participation active des femmes à la vie démocratique et publique au Canada.
  • Grâce à leur collaboration, les partenaires auront maximisé les opportunités et mis en œuvre des solutions efficaces pour éliminer les obstacles identifiés.
  • Les parties auront, par leur action, amplifié la voix des femmes et apporté des solutions à un enjeu qui touche les femmes au Canada.

Les organismes demandeurs devraient lire en premier lieu le document Le Programme de promotion de la femme est-il le bon choix pour moi? et les critères généraux d’admissibilité du Programme. Condition féminine Canada ne finance pas les services directs aux femmes. Veuillez communiquer avec une agente ou un agent du Programme de promotion de la femme pour vous assurer que votre proposition cadre avec ses objectifs et le thème du présent appel de propositions.

Évaluation des projets

On pourrait exiger que certains projets participent à une évaluation et à l’élaboration d’un cadre commun d’évaluation des besoins.

Les exigences de rapport et les échéanciers connexes seront déterminés une fois votre projet approuvé.

Financement offert et durée

Le Programme souhaitant favoriser les grands projets multipartites, il exige que les organismes collaborent afin de soumettre des demandes conjointes de financement. Veillez à ce que votre demande décrive comment les efforts de chacun des codemandeurs contribueront aux résultats du projet dans son ensemble.

Chaque demande devra être accompagnée d’une entente de partenariat signée par tous les codemandeurs. Celle-ci décrira :

  • la nature et la portée de la contribution de chacun (qui fait quoi);
  • une brève description de leur stratégie de collaboration (comment les codemandeurs travailleront ensemble), laquelle devra être précisée durant les premières phases de réalisation du projet;
  • le financement demandé par chacun des codemandeurs.

Le montant demandé doit tenir compte de la nature et de l’envergure du projet proposé. Par exemple, un projet ayant une portée pan canadienne pourrait demander un financement de l’ordre de 1,5 M$. Pour un projet ayant une portée régionale ou provinciale/territoriale, on devrait demander un financement qui correspond à l’envergure du projet proposé. La durée maximale du projet ne devrait pas excéder 36 mois.

Date de modification :