Persons Day

Banner for Women's History Month 2018

October 18 is Persons Day in Canada!

It marks the day in 1929 when the historic decision to include women in the legal definition of “persons” was handed down by Canada’s highest court of appeal. This gave women the right to be appointed to the Senate of Canada and paved the way for women's increased participation in public and political life.

Each year, the Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case are awarded in the fall as part of Canada’s Persons Day celebrations.

The History of the Persons Case

In Canada, the British North America Act (BNA Act) of 1867 set out the powers and responsibilities of the provinces and of the federal government. The Act used the word “persons” when referring to more than one person and “he” when referring to one person. Many argued the Act implicitly stated that only a man could be a person, which prevented women from participating fully in politics or affairs of state.

Governments also used the “persons” argument to keep women out of important positions. If the word “person” applied only to men, then the stipulation that only “qualified persons” could be appointed to the Senate of Canada meant that only men could be appointed.

In 1927, five women – who have since become known as the Famous Five – launched a legal challenge that would mark a turning point for equality rights in Canada. Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby and Henrietta Muir Edwards were journalists, politicians, reformers and activists from Alberta who asked the Supreme Court of Canada to answer the following question: does the word “person” in Section 24 of the BNA Act include female persons? After five weeks of debate, the Supreme Court decided that the word “person” did not include women.

Although shocked by the Court’s decision, the Famous Five did not give up the fight and took their case to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of Great Britain in London, which was then Canada’s highest court of appeal.

On October 18, 1929, Lord Sankey, Lord Chancellor of Great Britain, announced the decision:

“The exclusion of women from all public offices is a relic of days more barbarous than ours. And to those who would ask why the word ‘person’ should include females, the obvious answer is, why should it not?”

With this milestone victory, the Famous Five not only won the right for women to serve in the Senate, but also helped pave the way for women to participate equally in all aspects of life in Canada.

Date modified:

Journée de l'affaire « personne »

Bannière du Mois de l’histoire des femmes 2018

Le 18 octobre, c’est la Journée de l’affaire « personne » au Canada!

Ce jour-là, en 1929, le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada a rendu une décision historique : les femmes seraient incluses dans la définition du mot « personne » au sens de la loi. C’est ainsi que les femmes ont obtenu le droit de siéger au Sénat, ce qui a mené à une participation féminine grandissante à la vie publique et politique.

À l’automne de chaque année, les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne » sont remis dans le cadre des célébrations de la Journée de l’affaire « personne ».

L’histoire de l’affaire « personne »

Au Canada, la Loi de 1867 sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique établit les pouvoirs et les responsabilités des provinces et du gouvernement fédéral. Le terme « personnes » y est employé pour désigner plus d’un individu, et le pronom « il » pour en désigner un seul. À l’époque, bon nombre en ont conclu qu’implicitement, aux termes de la Loi, seul un homme était considéré comme une personne; les femmes ne pouvaient donc pas prendre pleinement part à la vie politique ou aux affaires de l’État.

Les gouvernements avaient recours au même argument pour empêcher les femmes d’accéder à des postes importants : si le mot « personne » ne s’appliquait qu’aux hommes et que seules des « personnes qualifiées » pouvaient être nommées au Sénat du Canada, alors seuls les hommes pouvaient y siéger.

En 1927, cinq femmes – que l’on appelle aujourd’hui les Célèbres cinq – ont lancé une contestation judiciaire qui a marqué un tournant dans la lutte pour le droit à l’égalité au Canada. Les Albertaines Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby et Henrietta Muir Edwards, des journalistes, politiciennes, réformatrices et militantes qui, ensemble, ont demandé à la Cour suprême du Canada de déterminer si le mot « personne » englobait les femmes dans l’article 24 de la Loi sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Après cinq semaines de délibération, la Cour suprême a tranché : le mot « personne » excluait les femmes.

Indignées par la décision, les Célèbres cinq ont refusé de baisser les bras et ont porté leur cause devant le Comité judiciaire du conseil privé britannique, à Londres, soit le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada à l’époque.

Le 18 octobre 1929, la décision est annoncée par Lord Sankey, grand chancelier de Grande-Bretagne :

« L’exclusion des femmes de toute charge publique est un vestige d’une époque plus barbare. Aux personnes qui se demandent si le mot “personne” doit comprendre les femmes, la réponse est évidente, pourquoi pas? »

Par cette victoire déterminante, les Célèbres cinq ont non seulement obtenu pour les femmes le droit de siéger au Sénat, mais elles ont également ouvert la voie à leur participation comme égales à toutes les autres facettes de la vie publique au Canada.

Date de modification :