Meet the 2018 Recipients

Governor General Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case

Inspired? Nominate someone!

Rina Arsenault
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Rina is recognized as a social worker, researcher, activist, organizer, author and educator.

She has a Masters in Social Work and is a Registered Social Worker. She has been the Associate Director of the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Centre for Family Violence Research since November 1993. With MMFC she has completed and documented extensive research, organized and delivered numerous regional, national and international training sessions and workshops on the subject of violence. She has contributed to the development of the accredited UNB Certificate Program in Family Violence Issues program and has taught courses in the program.

In 1997, she has been honored with the NB Advisory Council on the Status of Women Recognition Award for her contribution to improving the status of women in New Brunswick and in 2002, received the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation Award, for her work in violence against women and family violence.

In 2014, she was appointed to the Order of Canada and in 2016 received the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) Distinguished Service Award. In 2018, she was presented with the Social Work Education Field Instructor Award by the New Brunswick Association of Social Work for exceptional commitment to the academic and professional development of students.

Rina currently resides in Fredericton, NB with her husband Dan. She loves to spend time with family.

Shirley Cuillierrier
Ottawa, Ontario

Shirley Cuillierrier, a member of the Mohawk Nation from Kanesatake, Quebec, joined the RCMP in 1982.

Shirley is an advocate of protecting, defending and promoting the benefits of women in policing. Throughout her career she has developed, mentored and sponsored numerous women to succeed in their career progression. She has dedicated much of her professional and personal time to educating, volunteering and investigating crimes of violence against women and children.

After 15 years of serving in Atlantic Canada, she became a member of the Prime Minister’s Protective Detail in 1996. In 1998, she transferred to RCMP National Headquarters, and in 2004 was named the Officer in Charge of National Aboriginal Policing Services. In 2010, she led the National Human Trafficking Coordination Centre and currently sits on the Board of Directors for the Canadian Centre to End Human Trafficking, a national charity.

In 2017, Assistant Commissioner Shirley Cuillierrier was appointed Senior Advisor on Reconciliation and the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. She is committed to empowering the voices of Indigenous women and girls and reducing the rates of victimization.

Shirley has received numerous community and RCMP commendations, and is a recipient of both the Queen Elizabeth II Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals. In 2018, Shirley retired from the RCMP after 36 years of service.

Shirley is a proud mother of two adult children and loves spending time with them.

Rina Fraticelli
Toronto, Ontario

Rina Fraticelli has devoted her career to addressing gender inequity issues, particularly in Canada’s arts and cultural industries.

Since the late 70's she has worked to strengthen opportunities for women in the fields of theatre, literature, media and public life. She authored a highly influential report on the status of women in Canadian theatre to the Applebaum-Hebert Commission. She led two NFB Studio's - Studio D, the Women’s Studio in Montreal, where she oversaw a number of innovative projects including New Initiatives in Film to advance opportunities for Indigenous and racialized minority women; and the B.C. and Yukon Studio where she expanded activities increase the profile of Indigenous filmmakers and people with disabilities.

In 2008, Rina co-founded Women in View, a national not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving gender and racial diversity on and off screen. With WIV, she authored five influential reports (with the sixth about to be released) tracking the employment of women in publicly-funded Canadian media. In 2015 Women in View launched Directing Change, a three-year initiative sponsored by the Status of Women Canada to shift the Canadian media landscape towards greater equity.

In 2018, Fraticelli left Women in View to take on the role of Director of The Socrates Project, McMaster University’s ambitious new forum for artists, scholars and the wider community to come together to engage with the critical issues of our time.

Charlotte Hrenchuk
Whitehorse, Yukon

Charlotte Hrenchuk is a strong activist working to address gender inequality issues in the Yukon and across the north. Since the early 1980’s, she has fought for the inclusion of the voices and perspectives of northern women and girls in national policy discussions, most recently as a member of the federal Advisory Committee on Homelessness working on the redesign of the Homelessness Partnering Strategy.

Her research and activism has focused on a myriad of issues related to women and girls in the north including, health, poverty, violence against women and legal system involvement. As the Coordinator of the non-profit, Yukon Status of Women Council, her work has brought awareness to issues for women that are often ignored; she is a champion of the needs of marginalized women.

As a community-based activist, Charlotte believes in elevating the status of all women. She has worked tirelessly to raise the voices of women’s narratives and through that, believes that equity and social justice for women can be achieved. Charlotte’s research and publications include the first study of women’s homelessness in the northern territories. This ground-breaking and pioneering research continues to be used as a critical policy reference document across the north.

Later, Charlotte identified a gap in our understanding of women’s experience of the justice system. As a result, she developed the court watch action research program. Most recently, Charlotte examined sex work and trafficking of women and girls in a Yukon context. This formative research has increased our understanding of the unique social factors at play in women’s lives in the north.

She is the co-founder of Hidden Histories Society Yukon which highlights the contributions of Black and Asian women in Yukon Territory. She has been a co-chair of the Yukon Anti-Poverty Coalition for since 2011 and has served on several voluntary boards of directors. She lives in Whitehorse with her husband and they have three wonderful young adult children.

Hélène Lee-Gosselin
Ste. Pétronille, Quebec

Hélène Lee-Gosselin is a full professor in the Faculty of Administrative Sciences and director of the Institut Femmes, Sociétés, égalité et équité at Laval University. Prior to that, for over 10 years, she held the Claire-Bonenfant Chair – Women, Knowledge and Societies.

As a researcher involved in the community, she has conducted many studies in cooperation with the communities and organizations on equity and diversity in the workplace, pay equity, women’s entrepreneurship, and women’s place in decision-making bodies and academic institutions. She is committed to disseminating the results of those studies to practice settings in order to advance thought and action towards true equality and equity. 

Hélène contributed to, among other things, the creation and monitoring of Quebec’s Pay Equity Act; she was a member of the committee that, in 1996, consulted with unions, employers and community groups, and made recommendations regarding the content of this innovative legislation. Since then, she has contributed to the overseeing of its application by participating in the Committee of Partners to the Commission sur l’équité salariale. She has also worked with various organizations, including Femmessor and the Table de concertation de la Capitale Nationale en Condition féminine.

She has been a member of the Comité scientifique du Réseau québécois en études féministes since it was first established; she is also a recognized champion of sex and gender issues in Canada’s health research institutes; she uses her expertise to ensure that gender and sex aspects are adequately incorporated into applied research.

Alana Robert (Youth)
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Alana is in her final year of studies at Osgoode Hall Law School where she focuses on advancing the rights of marginalized groups in Canada.

Alana founded Justice For Women in 2013, to combat gender-based violence on campus through designing educational programming and developing a policy that mandates this training for students across all faculties at the University of Manitoba. Alana has testified on this work to the House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women.

In 2017, she interned with the UN International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia in The Hague, where she worked on victim and witness protection.

As a National Network Leader for Equal Voice, Alana developed an electronic toolkit that offers strategies to address gender-based violence. In March 2018, Alana represented Equal Voice at the UN Commission on the Status of Women where she accompanied Minister Maryam Monsef to advocate for equitable access to resources for Indigenous women and girls from rural and remote communities.

As a Métis woman, Alana is passionate about eliminating violence against Indigenous women and girls, and has received the Helen Basset Commemorative Student Award from the Native Women’s Association of Canada.

Date modified:

Les récipiendaires de 2018

Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne »

Inspirantes, n’est-ce pas? Proposez une candidature!

Rina Arseneault
Fredericton (Nouveau Brunswick)

Rina est la Directrice adjointe du Centre Muriel McQueen Fergusson pour la recherche sur la violence familiale à l’université du Nouveau-Brunswick, depuis 1993. Elle a une maîtrise en travail social et elle est une travailleuse sociale enregistrée avec l’Association des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau-Brunswick.  

En 1997, Mme Arseneault a été lauréate du prestigieux Prix Spiritus, décerné par le Conseil consultatif sur la condition des femmes du Nouveau-Brunswick en reconnaissance  de ses importantes contributions à l’amélioration des conditions de la vie des femmes et en 2002 a été lauréate du Prix de la Fondation Muriel McQueen Fergusson. Ce prix lui a été décerné pour son travail sur la problématique de la violence familiale et la violence faite aux femmes.  

En 2014, Rina Arseneault a reçu la prestigieuse distinction honorifique de membre de l’ordre du Canada et en 2016 fut lauréate du Prix d'excellence pour service insigne de l'ACTS. En 2018, elle a reçu le prix pour la direction de stagiaires de l’Association des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau Brunswick pour son engagement exceptionnel pour le développement académique et professionnel des élèves.

Rina demeure à Fredericton avec son mari Dan.  Elle aime passer du temps avec sa famille.

Shirley Cuillierrier
Ottawa (Ontario)

Shirley Cuillierrier, membre de la Nation mohawk de Kanesatake, Québec, s’est jointe à la GRC en 1982.

Shirley a toujours défendu et promu les avantages d’avoir des policières parmi les corps de police. Tout au long de sa carrière, elle a formé, conseillé et marrainé de nombreuses femmes dans le but de les aider à progresser dans leur carrière. Elle a consacré une grande partie de sa carrière à enquêter sur des crimes de violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants et une grande partie de sa vie personnelle à faire du bénévolat et à sensibiliser les autres à ce type d’agressions.

Après 15 années de service dans le Canada atlantique, elle devient membre l’équipe de protection du premier ministre en 1996. En 1998, elle est mutée à la Direction générale de la GRC et, en 2004, elle est nommée officier responsable des Services nationaux de police autochtone. En 2010, elle dirige le Centre national de coordination contre la traite des personnes. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration du Canadian Centre to End Human Trafficking, un organisme de bienfaisance national.

En 2017, la surintendante Shirley Cuillierrier est nommée conseillère principale pour la réconciliation et l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Elle tient fermement à donner une voix aux femmes et aux femmes autochtones et à réduire les taux de victimisation.

Shirley a reçu de nombreuses distinctions communautaires et de la GRC. Elle est titulaire des médailles du jubilé d’or et de diamant de la Reine Elizabeth II. Elle a pris sa retraite de la GRC en 2018, après 36 années de services.

Shirley est la mère de deux enfants adultes. Elle adore passer du temps avec eux.

Rina Fraticelli
Toronto (Ontario)

Rina Fraticelli a consacré sa carrière à l’élimination de l’inégalité entre les sexes, notamment dans les industries des arts et de la culture au Canada.  

Depuis la fin des années 1970, elle a œuvré à améliorer les possibilités pour les femmes dans les domaines du théâtre, de la littérature, des médias et de la vie publique. Elle a rédigé un rapport sur la condition féminine qui a fortement influencé le Comité d'étude de la politique culturelle fédérale. Elle a été à la tête de deux studios de l’ONF : le Studio D, studio de production féministe à Montréal, où elle a chapeauté un certain nombre de projets innovateurs, dont New Initiatives in Film, visant à accroître les occasions pour les femmes autochtones et de minorités raciales; et le Studio de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon, où elle a été en mesure de multiplier les activités pour rehausser le profil des cinéastes autochtones et des personnes handicapées.  

En 2008, Rina a cofondé Women in View (WIV), un organisme national à but non lucratif qui se consacre à améliorer la diversité sexuelle et raciale à l’écran et ailleurs. Durant son mandat à WIV, elle a rédigé cinq rapports déterminants (le sixième sera publié prochainement) suivant l’emploi des femmes dans les médias canadiens subventionnés par l’état. En 2015,  Women in View a lancé Directing Change, une initiative de trois ans financée par Condition féminine Canada visant à implanter l’égalité des sexes dans le paysage médiatique canadien. 

Rina a quitté Women in View en 2018 pour occuper le poste de directrice du Socrates Project à l’Université McMaster, nouveau forum ambitieux où les artistes, les universitaires et la collectivité dans l’ensemble pourront discuter des enjeux importants de notre époque.

Charlotte Hrenchuk
Whitehorse (Yukon)

Charlotte Hrenchuk est une militante convaincue qui lutte contre les inégalités entre les sexes au Yukon et dans le Nord. Depuis le début des années 1980, elle milite pour que la voix et les perspectives des femmes et des filles du Nord soient prises en considération lors des discussions sur les politiques nationales. À ce titre, elle a récemment siégé au Comité consultatif sur l’itinérance du gouvernement fédéral, qui travaillait sur le remaniement de la Stratégie des partenariats de lutte contre l’itinérance.

Ses recherches et son activisme ont porté sur une multitude de questions touchant les femmes et les filles dans le Nord, notamment la santé, la pauvreté, la violence faite aux femmes et le rôle du système juridique. À titre de coordonnatrice de l’organisme sans but lucratif, le Conseil de la condition de la femme du Yukon, elle a attiré l’attention sur des questions, souvent occultées, qui touchent les femmes. Elle s’est faite championne des femmes marginalisées et de leurs besoins.

À titre de militante communautaire, Charlotte croit qu’il faut améliorer la condition de toutes les femmes. Elle a toujours travaillé pour faire connaitre le récit des femmes et faire entendre leurs voix et pense que c’est ainsi que l’équité et la justice sociale pour les femmes est possible. Au nombre de ses travaux de recherche et publications, Charlotte a publié la première étude sur l’itinérance des femmes dans les territoires du Nord. Cette étude avant-gardiste est encore, de nos jours, un document de référence essentiel à l’élaboration de politiques dans le Nord.

Plus tard, Charlotte a constaté que nous ne comprenions pas pleinement la manière particulière dont les femmes et le système de justice interagissaient. Elle a donc mis au point un programme de recherche et de surveillance des tribunaux. Plus récemment, Charlotte s’est penchée sur le commerce sexuel et la traite des jeunes femmes et des filles au Yukon. Cette recherche formative nous a permis de mieux comprendre les facteurs sociaux propres aux femmes vivant dans le Nord.

Charlotte a cofondé la Société des histoires inconnues du Yukon, qui met en évidence la riche contribution des femmes noires et asiatiques au territoire du Yukon. Depuis 2011, elle copréside la Coalition antipauvreté du Yukon et elle a siégé à plusieurs conseils d’administration bénévoles. Elle vit à Whitehorse avec son mari. Ils ont trois merveilleux enfants, qui sont maintenant de jeunes adultes.

Hélène Lee-Gosselin
Sainte Pétronille (Québec)

Hélène Lee-Gosselin est professeure titulaire à la Faculté des sciences de l'administration et directrice de l'Institut Femmes, Sociétés, égalité et équité de l'Université Laval.  Auparavant, pendant plus de dix ans, elle fut titulaire de la Chaire Claire-Bonenfant – Femmes, Savoirs et Sociétés.  

Chercheuse engagée dans la communauté, elle a réalisé de nombreuses études en collaboration avec les milieux et les organisations sur l'équité et la diversité en milieu de travail, l'équité salariale, l'entrepreneuriat féminin et la place des femmes dans les instances décisionnelles et dans l’institution universitaire. Elle se soucie d’en diffuser les résultats auprès des milieux de pratique, pour faire progresser la réflexion et l’action vers une égalité et une équité de fait. 

Hélène a contribué notamment à la création et au suivi de la Loi sur l'équité salariale du Québec; elle était membre du comité qui, en 1996, a consulté les syndicats, les employeurs, les groupes communautaires et a formulé des recommandations sur le contenu de cette loi innovatrice. Depuis, elle a contribué au suivi de son application en participant au Comité des partenaires de la Commission sur l’équité salariale.  Elle a aussi collaboré avec divers organismes dont Femmessor et la Table de concertation de la Capitale Nationale en Condition féminine. 

Membre du Comité scientifique du Réseau québécois en études féministes depuis sa création, elle est également une championne reconnue des questions de sexe et de genre dans les instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ; elle utilise son savoir-faire pour assurer une intégration adéquate des dimensions de genre et de sexe dans la recherche appliquée.

Alana Robert (jeunesse)
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Alana termine sa dernière année d’étude à la Osgoode Hall Law School où elle se concentre sur la défense des droits des groupes marginalisés au Canada. 

Alana a fondé Justice For Women en 2013 pour lutter contre la violence fondée sur le sexe sur le campus de l’Université du Manitoba grâce à la conception de programmes de sensibilisation et à l’élaboration d’une politique qui exige que les étudiantes et étudiants de toutes les facultés de l’université suivent ladite formation. Alana a témoigné à ce sujet devant le Comité permanent de la condition féminine de la Chambre des communes. 

En 2017, elle a fait un stage auprès du Tribunal pénal international pour l’ancienne Yougoslavie de l’ONU à La Haye, où elle a travaillé au dossier de protection des victimes et des témoins. 

Dans son rôle de leader du réseau national d’à voix égales, Alana a créé une boîte à outils virtuelle qui offre des stratégies de lutte contre la violence fondée sur le sexe. En mars 2018, elle a accompagné la ministre Monsef à la Commission de la condition de la femme de l’ONU comme représentante d’à voix égales pour promouvoir l’accès égal aux ressources pour les femmes et les filles autochtones de régions rurales et éloignées.

En tant que Métisse, Alana milite ardemment pour l’élimination de la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones. Elle a reçu le Helen Basset Commemorative Student Award de l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada.

Date de modification :