About the Federal Strategy on Gender-based Violence

Federal Strategy on Gender-based Violence

The Minister of Status of Women has been mandated to work with experts and advocates to develop and implement a federal strategy against gender-based violence. The Minister is reaching out to academia, civil society and front-line service providers to hear their perspectives on key issues and activities that can help to inform the development of this federal strategy. As part of this process, Status of Women Canada hosted roundtables across Canada. Canadians were also given the opportunity to comment through an online survey and via email to Status of Women Canada at FinALAViolence-EndViolence@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

*Please note that the deadlines for commenting and completing the survey have passed.

To learn more about gender-based violence and about the guiding principles to support the development of the federal strategy, please consult: Setting the Stage for a Federal Strategy against Gender-based Violence (html and PDF versions)

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council on the Federal Strategy Against Gender-based Violence was established on June 27, 2016. The Advisory Council is serving as a forum to exchange views, promising practices and research on issues related to gender-based violence.

The members of the Advisory Council come from a broad range of sectors and areas of expertise. They have been selected to reflect expertise in prevention, supporting survivors and justice and other system responses. They will also speak to the particular barriers facing diverse groups such as Indigenous women and girls, young women and girls, LGBTQQI2S persons, newcomer and migrant women and girls, and women and girls with disabilities.

Members

Learn about the Members

Who is involved in the engagement process and why?

Federal Government: The Minister of Status of Women is working with her Ministerial colleagues to identify key federal actions to reduce and prevent gender-based violence, and to strengthen the way the federal government works to address this issue.

Provincial/Territorial Governments:Provincial/territorial governments have a key role to play in preventing and addressing gender-based violence in areas such as health care, social services, child protection and policing, among others. It is important that the federal strategy complement this role by building on and aligning with the violence strategies and initiatives already being implemented by provincial and territorial governments.

Academia, civil society and front-line service providers: Hearing from experts will help the Government to identify promising practices, build on lessons learned, determine priorities and ensure that the federal strategy is effective and based on the best available evidence.

Survivors: The Government of Canada recognizes that survivors of violence must have a voice in the development of the federal strategy. It is important to ensure that the strategy is informed by the experiences, needs and challenges of those who are most directly affected by gender-based violence, including survivors.

Canadians were also given the opportunity to comment through an online survey and via email to Status of Women Canada at FinALAViolence-EndViolence@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

What we are hearing

The Government of Canada is meeting with experts/advocates and survivors from across the country to discuss priorities and actions that will address and prevent gender-based violence. Summaries of key meetings are provided below.

You may send your comments on the summaries by email to Status of Women Canada at FinALAViolence-EndViolence@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

Date modified:

À propos de la stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe

Stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe

La ministre de la Condition féminine a reçu le mandat de travailler avec des expertes, des experts, des militantes et des militants à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe. Afin d’éclairer ce travail, la ministre souhaitCondition féminine Canada a donc tenu des tables rondes un peu partout au pays. Les Canadiennes et Canadiens ont aussi eu la possibilité de s’exprimer en répondant au sondage en ligne et par courriel, à Condition féminine Canada à FinALaViolence-EndViolence@cfc-swc.gc.ca.

Veuillez prendre note que les dates limites pour commenter et remplir le sondage sont passées.

Afin d’en savoir davantage sur la violence fondée sur le sexe et sur les principes qui encadrent l’élaboration de la stratégie fédérale, veuillez consulter le document Préparation de la stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe (en format html ou PDF).

Conseil consultatif

Le Conseil consultatif sur la stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe a été mis sur pied le 27 juin 2016. Le Conseil consultatif se veut un lieu d’échange, où mettre commun les points de vue, les pratiques prometteuses et les résultats de recherche relativement à la violence fondée sur le sexe.

Les membres du Conseil consultatif viennent de secteurs très variés et possèdent des compétences spécialisées dans divers domaines. Elles et ils ont été choisis en raison de leurs compétences spécialisées concernant la prévention, le soutien aux personnes survivantes, la justice et d’autres instances ou infrastructures concernées. Les membres vont également faire état des obstacles propres à diverses populations, comme les filles et les jeunes femmes en général, les femmes et les filles autochtones, les personnes allosexuelles et bispirituelles, les femmes et les filles des milieux migrants ou nouvellement arrivées, ainsi que les femmes et les filles handicapées.

Membres

Apprenez-en davantage au sujet des membres

Qui participe au processus de dialogue, et pourquoi?

Gouvernement fédéral : La ministre de la Condition féminine travaille avec ses collègues ministres afin de déterminer les principales mesures fédérales requises pour réduire et prévenir la violence fondée sur le sexe, de même que pour améliorer la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral œuvre à l’élimination de ce fléau.

Gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux : Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont un rôle crucial à jouer dans la prévention et l’élimination de la violence fondée sur le sexe en raison de leurs responsabilités dans des domaines comme les soins de santé, les services sociaux, la protection de l’enfance et le maintien de l’ordre. Il faut que la stratégie fédérale soit complémentaire à leur rôle et cadre bien avec les stratégies et initiatives de lutte contre la violence qu’ils ont mises en œuvre.

Universitaires, membres de la société civile et intervenantes et intervenants de première ligne: Les points de vue des parties prenantes aideront le gouvernement à recenser les pratiques prometteuses, à mettre à profit ce qu’on a appris à ce jour et à définir les priorités, pour concevoir une stratégie efficace qui tient compte des meilleures données disponibles.

Survivantes et survivants : Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que les survivantes et survivants de violence doivent être entendus dans l’élaboration de la stratégie fédérale. Il est important que la stratégie soit basée sur les expériences, les besoins et les défis des personnes les plus touchées par la violence fondée sur le sexe, notamment les survivantes et survivants.

La population a pu soumettre ses commentaires en répondant au sondage en ligne et par courriel, à Condition féminine Canada à FinALaViolence-EndViolence@cfc-swc.gc.ca.

Le gouvernement du Canada dialogue en ce moment avec les parties prenantes et des personnes survivantes un peu partout au pays afin de définir des priorités et dégager des mesures de nature à prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le sexe. On trouvera ci-dessous un résumé des rencontres clés.

Vous pouvez envoyer vos commentaires au sujet des résumés par courriel à Condition féminine Canada à FinALaViolence-EndViolence@cfc-swc.gc.ca

Date de modification :