Protecting Aboriginal Women and Girls

Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crimes Against Aboriginal Women and Girls

The Government of Canada is taking important steps to address violence perpetrated against Aboriginal women and girls. In Economic Action Plan 2014, the Government of Canada committed to investing an additional $25 million over five years to continue efforts to reduce violence against Aboriginal women and girls. As part of delivering on this commitment, the Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crimes Against Aboriginal Women and Girls was released on September 15, 2014.

The five-year Action Plan outlines concrete actions to prevent violence, support Aboriginal victims, and protect Aboriginal women and girls from violence. Together with other federal support for shelters, family violence prevention, and increasing economic and leadership opportunities for Aboriginal women, it will result in an investment by the Government of Canada of nearly $200 million over five years, starting in 2015-2016 and 2016-2017.

The Action Plan builds on the Government of Canada’s 2010-2015 investment of $25 million to improve community safety, and to enhance the justice system and law enforcement response to cases of missing and murdered Aboriginal women.

For more information, please contact infoactionplan@swc-cfc.gc.ca.

Protéger les femmes et les filles autochtones

Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones

Le gouvernement du Canada pose des gestes importants pour contrer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones. Dans son Plan d’action économique 2014, il s’est engagé à consacrer 25 millions de dollars additionnels sur cinq ans à la poursuite des efforts pour réduire la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones. La concrétisation de cet engagement reposera notamment sur le Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones, rendu public le 15 septembre 2014.

Ce plan quinquennal renferme des mesures concrètes pour prévenir la violence, soutenir les victimes autochtones et protéger les femmes et les filles autochtones contre la violence. Il s’ajoute à l’aide fédérale aux refuges, à la prévention de la violence familiale et aux mesures visant à augmenter les débouchés économiques des femmes autochtones ainsi que leur accès au pouvoir, portant à près de 200 millions de dollars l’investissement total du gouvernement du Canada sur cinq ans à partir de 2015-2016 et 2016-2017.

Le Plan d’action s’inscrit dans la foulée de l’investissement que le gouvernement du Canada a fait entre 2010 et 2015 pour rehausser la sécurité des collectivités et améliorer l’action des autorités policières et judiciaires en réponse aux disparitions et meurtres de femmes autochtones.

Pour des renseignements additionnels, veuillez communiquer avec nous à infoplandaction@cfc-swc.gc.ca.