Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Key Decisions, Meetings and Activities

November

Activity

16 Days Of Activism Against Gender Violence (November 25 – December 10)

The 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence begin on the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women on November 25 and end on International Human Rights Day on December 10. They also include the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women and Girls on December 6. The 16 Days of Activism is a time to both reflect on violence against women and to take action to end it.

As organizations working on gender based violence finalize their activities, you will be provided with a calendar offering several opportunities to take part in events commemorating this internationally recognized period of time.

December

Activities

December 6: National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women

December 6 marks the anniversary of the murders of 14 young women at l'École Polytechnique de Montréal in 1989.

As this is part of the 16 Days Of Activism Against Gender Violence, options for speaking opportunities will be included in the aforementioned calendar.

2015 Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case (early December, TBD)

As Status of Women Canada is responsible for administrating the Awards, you will be a speaker at the awards ceremony, presided by the Governor General. The Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case were created in 1979 to mark the 50th anniversary of the groundbreaking Persons Case, which changed the course of history for women in Canada. Each year, five recipients are chosen from across Canada.

January

Decisions

Canadian delegation to UN Commission on the Status of Women in March 2016

Your decision will be required on the final delegation (including non-governmental organizations, Provincial and Territorial representatives and Member of Parliaments)

February

Meeting

Second National Roundtable on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (Winnipeg, Manitoba, TBC)

In late February 2015, the Government of Canada committed to participate in the second Roundtable with National Aboriginal Organizations, Provinces and Territories. It is anticipated that you may represent the Government of Canada at this Roundtable in Manitoba (timing to be confirmed). At the first Roundtable, participants negotiated the Framework For Action To Prevent and Address Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls, which sets out the objectives and the priorities for coordinated action by all parties involved.

Activity

Women’s Memorial March 2016, February 14 (26th edition)

The Women’s Memorial Marches take place annually on Valentine’s Day in many communities around the country to honour the lives of missing and murdered women (mostly Aboriginal women). You may wish to attend one of these marches and meet informally with family members.

March

Meeting

2016 United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW)
(March 14 – 24 )

The UNCSW is the main international mechanism to address issues relevant to gender equality and women’s human rights. The UNCSW convenes annually and is a forum through which emerging issues and trends are identified. At this event, national women’s machineries and inter-governmental bodies discuss challenges and opportunities with respect to advancing the global agenda for gender equality and women’s human rights. You will be leading the Canadian delegation, on behalf of the Government of Canada, and promoting Canada’s commitment to gender equality. Your presence is typically required for the first 2 to 3 days of the meeting.

Activity

March 8: International Women’s Day

Each year, March 8 – and the week in which it falls – provides an opportunity to take stock of progress towards gender equality and to honour the contributions women have made and are making — both in Canada and around the world. Events and speaking opportunities will be proposed as a way of promoting the Government of Canada’s work domestically and around the world to advance gender equality.

When Parliament Resumes

Decisions

Departmental Performance Reports (DPR)

DPRs inform Parliamentarians and Canadians of the past year results achieved for Canadians by government organizations. The DPR will be tabled when Parliament resumes and you will be requested to sign off on SWC’s 2015–2016 Report.

Annual Report on Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP)

As Minister, you are responsible for signing and tabling of SWC’s 2014–2015 report on ATIP. Tabling must take place on any of the 15 days after Parliament resumes. This report will be made available to Canadians simultaneously, via our website.  

Activity

Standing Committee on the Status of Women (FEWO)

As Minister of Status of Women, you will be called to appear before the Standing Committee on the Status of Women (FEWO). Your first appearance will most likely be on the topic of Supplementary Estimates (B).

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Principales décisions, réunions et activités

Novembre

Activité

Les 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes (25 novembre au 10 décembre)

Les 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes commencent la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes le 25 novembre et se terminent la Journée des droits de l’homme le 10 décembre. Ils comprennent également la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes le 6 décembre. Les 16 jours d’activisme constituent un temps de réflexion sur la violence à l’égard des femmes ainsi qu’un temps pour agir afin d’y mettre fin.

Lorsque les organismes œuvrant à contrer la violence faite aux femmes auront déterminé leurs activités pour cette période de commémoration, on vous proposera un calendrier d’événements qui vous offrira plusieurs possibilités de participer à des événements de commémoration pendant cette période reconnue mondialement.

Décembre

Activités

Le 6 décembre : Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes

Le 6 décembre marque l’anniversaire du meurtre de 14 jeunes femmes à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, en 1989. Comme cet événement s’inscrit dans les 16 jours d’activisme, on vous présentera des possibilités de prononcer une allocution dans le calendrier susmentionné.

2015 Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne » (début décembre, date à confirmer)

Puisque Condition féminine Canada est chargé de l’administration des prix, vous prononcerez une allocution au cours de la cérémonie de remise des prix, présidée par le Gouverneur général. Les prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne » ont été créés en 1979 pour marquer le 50e anniversaire de la révolutionnaire affaire « personne », qui a changé le cours de l’histoire pour les Canadiennes. Chaque année, cinq prix sont décernés à des récipiendaires d'un peu partout au Canada.

Janvier

Décision

Délégation canadienne à la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies 2016 (CCFNU) en mars 2016

Vous devrez décider du processus pour choisir la représentation d’organismes non gouvernementaux dans la délégation canadienne officielle.

Février

Réunion

Deuxième Table ronde nationale sur les femmes et les jeunes filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées (Winnipeg, Manitoba, à confirmer)

Vers la fin février 2015, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à participer à la deuxième Table ronde, avec les organisations autochtones nationales, les provinces et les territoires. On s’attend à ce que vous représentiez le gouvernement du Canada à cette Table ronde au Manitoba (date à confirmer). Lors de la première Table ronde, les participantes et les participants ont négocié le Cadre d’intervention pour prévenir et contrer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, qui fixe les objectifs et les priorités d’une action concertée de la part de toutes les parties concernées

Activité

Marche commémorative annuelle en hommage aux femmes disparues et assassinées, le 14 février 2016 (26e édition)

Les marches en hommage aux femmes disparues ou assassinées (Women’s Memorial Marches)* ont lieu chaque année le jour de la Saint-Valentin dans de nombreuses collectivités partout au pays, pour commémorer la vie des femmes disparues ou assassinées (en majorité des femmes autochtones). Vous pourriez vouloir participer à l’une de ces marches et rencontrer en privé les membres des familles des victimes.

* site web disponible en anglais seulement

Mars

Réunion

Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies 2016 (CCFNU)
(du 14 au 24 mars)

La CCFNU est le principal organisme international qui se penche sur les enjeux de l’égalité des sexes et des droits des femmes. La CCFNU se réunit chaque année; il s’agit d’un forum où sont cernés les nouveaux enjeux et les nouvelles tendances. Lors de cette activité, les mécanismes nationaux de promotion de l’égalité des sexes et des organismes intergouvernementaux discutent des défis et des possibilités relatifs à l’avancement du programme mondial pour l’égalité des sexes et les droits des femmes. Vous serez à la tête de la délégation canadienne, représentant le gouvernement du Canada, et ferez la promotion de l’engagement du Canada en faveur de l’égalité des sexes. En règle générale, votre présence est nécessaire durant les deux à trois premières journées de la réunion.

Activité

Le 8 mars : Journée internationale de la femme

Chaque année, le 8 mars – et la semaine du 8 mars – constitue une occasion de faire le point sur les progrès réalisés en matière d’égalité des sexes et de rendre hommage aux contributions passées et actuelles des femmes — tant au Canada que partout dans le monde. L’on vous proposera des événements et des occasions de prendre la parole, qui permettront de promouvoir le travail accompli par le gouvernement du Canada, au pays et dans le monde, pour faire avancer l’égalité des sexes.

Reprise des travaux parlementaires

Décisions

Rapports ministériels sur le rendement (RMR)

Le RMR informe les parlementaires et la population canadienne des résultats obtenus par les organisations pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Le RMR sera déposé à la reprise des travaux du Parlement, et votre signature du rapport de Condition féminine Canada pour 2015–2016 sera requise.

Rapport annuel en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP)

À titre de ministre, vous avez la responsabilité de signer et de déposer le rapport de CFC 2014–2015 sur l’AIPRP. Le dépôt doit avoir lieu au cours des 15 premiers jours suivant la reprise des travaux du Parlement. Ce rapport sera simultanément communiqué à la population canadienne par l’entremise de notre site Web.

Activité

Comité permanent de la condition féminine (FEWO)

À titre de ministre de la Condition féminine, vous serez invitée à comparaître devant le Comité permanent de la condition féminine (FEWO). À votre première comparution, il sera probablement question du budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B).

Date de modification: