Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Gender-based Analysis

Background

Gender-based analysis (GBA) is an analytical competency for the examination of policies, programs, or initiatives for their potential impacts on diverse groups of women and men. Status of Women Canada (SWC) is the lead for the implementation of the Government’s commitment to the application of GBA in the decision-making process, flowing from the 1995 ratification of the Beijing Platform for Action. Federal organizations are required to demonstrate that gender considerations have been taken into account in documents submitted for approval by Cabinet, as well as in submissions to the Treasury Board.

SWC’s primary role is building GBA capacity across federal organizations. This includes the development and provision of tools and training to 35 federal departments and agencies. Basic GBA training is available to officials and the general public through an online course, developed by SWC, on the SWC website. To date, over 2500 federal officials have completed the course.

In 2009, the Auditor General released a report assessing the application of GBA across the federal government, and found little evidence of its impact on decision-making. In response, SWC, along with the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) and the Privy Council Office (PCO), developed the Departmental Action Plan on GBA. For the past 5 years, this Plan has served as a blueprint for the implementation of GBA Frameworks in federal departments and agencies. While SWC provides guidance and expertise, and works to create networks of GBA knowledge, accountability for GBA ultimately rests with each individual organization.

Current status

The Auditor General conducted a follow-up audit on GBA in 2015, re-assessing the implementation of GBA across government and the commitments made under the Action Plan by SWC, TBS and PCO. The report is scheduled to be tabled in January 2016. The draft report, which has been shared with SWC, highlights the need for more robust implementation of GBA across government with increased monitoring and reporting by SWC and Central Agencies.

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Analyse comparative entre les sexes

Contexte

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes (ACS) est une compétence analytique qui permet d’évaluer les répercussions éventuelles de politiques, de programmes ou d’initiatives sur des populations de femmes et d'hommes d'horizons divers. Conformément à l’engagement pris par le gouvernement dans la foulée de la ratification du Programme d’action de Beijing, en 1995, Condition féminine Canada (CFC) veille à l’intégration de l’ACS au processus de décision. Les organismes fédéraux doivent démontrer qu’ils ont tenu compte des considérations sexospécifiques dans les documents soumis à l’approbation du Cabinet et dans les présentations au Conseil du Trésor.

Le principal rôle de CFC est de renforcer la capacité de l’ensemble des organismes fédéraux en matière d’ACS. L’organisme conçoit et offre dans ce but des outils et de la formation à 35 d’entre eux. Les fonctionnaires et le grand public ont accès à une formation de base sur l’ACS grâce au cybercours élaboré par CFC et offert sur son site Web. À ce jour, plus de 2 200 fonctionnaires fédéraux ont achevé le cours.

En 2009, la vérificatrice générale a publié un rapport sur l’application de l’ACS dans la fonction publique fédérale et indiquait dans celui-ci avoir relevé peu d'éléments indiquant que l’ACS exerçait une influence réelle sur les décisions. CFC, de concert avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et le Bureau du Conseil privé, a répondu à ses constatations en élaborant le Plan d’action ministériel pour l’ACS. Depuis cinq ans, ce plan guide la mise en œuvre de cadres d’ACS dans les ministères et les organismes fédéraux. Bien que CFC appuie ceux-ci par ses conseils et son savoir-faire et qu’il s’emploie à créer des réseaux d’échange de connaissances en ACS, il revient ultimement à chacun de rendre compte de l’application de l’ACS.

Situation actuelle

Le vérificateur général a effectué un audit de suivi sur l’ACS en 2015 dans lequel il a réévalué la mise en œuvre de l’ACS à l’échelle de la fonction publique ainsi que les engagements pris par CFC, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et le Bureau du Conseil privé dans le cadre du Plan d’action. Le rapport doit être déposé en janvier 2016. Le rapport provisoire, communiqué à CFC, souligne la nécessité d’en faire davantage pour surveiller l’application de l’ACS à la grandeur du gouvernement et accroître la reddition de comptes de la part de CFC et d’autres organismes centraux.

Date de modification: