Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Commemorative Dates

Background

The Government of Canada commemorates significant dates that provide opportunities for Canadians to learn more about the issues affecting women and girls in Canada and their contribution to our country. Status of Women Canada develops materials for the promotion of these dates that are used by: non-government organizations, schools, other levels of government, Canada’s missions abroad, and museums. As Minister responsible for the Status of Women, you will have opportunities to engage with Canadians in the promotion of the importance of these dates, through speaking engagements, announcements and social media outreach.

November 25 to December 10

November 25 to December 10

16 Days of Activism against Gender Violence (November 25 to December 10) is an international campaign that began in 1991. November 25 is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women and the beginning of the 16 Days of Activism against Gender Violence, which encompass Canada’s National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women on December 6 and conclude with International Human Rights Day on December 10.

December 6

December 6

National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women (December 6) is the date Canadians collectively remember the murders of 14 young women at l'École Polytechnique de Montréal in 1989 and other victims of gender-based violence. It is an occasion to encourage action to eliminate all forms of violence against women and girls. The commemoration date was established by the Parliament of Canada in 1991.

March 8

March 8

International Women's Day, (March 8) is the internationally recognized date focusing on the celebration of progress toward equality for women. March 8 was designated as International Women's Day by the United Nations in 1977.

Month of October

Month of October

Women's History Month (October) is a Canadian date focusing on opportunities to learn about the contributions of women and girls who have shaped Canada. It has been celebrated since 1992.

October 11

October 11

International Day of the Girl (October 11) is an internationally recognized date focusing attention on the need to address the challenges girls face and to promote girls’ empowerment and the fulfilment of their human rights. It was established in 2011.

October 18

November 25 to December 10

Persons Day (October 18) is a Canadian date honouring the five Canadian women – Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby and Nellie McClung, known as the Famous Five – who, in 1929, fought and won the right for women to be recognized as persons before the law, and thus eligible to sit in the Senate. Each year, Status of Women Canada administers the Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case. These awards recognize up to five individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the goal of equality for women and girls in Canada. This date has been commemorated since 1979.

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Dates commémoratives pour les femmes et les filles

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada commémore des dates d’importance pour les Canadiennes, afin d’offrir à la population des occasions d’en apprendre davantage sur l’apport des femmes et des filles à notre pays et sur les enjeux qui les touchent. Condition féminine Canada crée à cette fin de la documentation qui est utilisée par des organismes non gouvernementaux, des écoles, d’autres ordres de gouvernement, des missions canadiennes à l’étranger et des musées. Vous aurez l’occasion de faire valoir l’importance de ces dates aux Canadiennes et Canadiens par vos messages dans les médias sociaux, vos annonces et vos allocutions à titre de ministre de la Condition féminine.

Du 25 novembre au 10 décembre
Du 25 novembre au 10 décembre


La campagne internationale des 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence faite aux femmes (du 25 novembre au 10 décembre) a vu le jour en 1991. Elle commence le 25 novembre, Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes, et se termine le 10 décembre, Journée internationale des droits de la personne. Au Canada, les 16 jours incluent la Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, célébrée le 6 décembre.

Le 6 décembre
Le 6 décembre


Le 6 décembre, Journée nationale de commémoration et d'action contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, les Canadiennes et Canadiens se remémorent collectivement le meurtre de 14 jeunes femmes à l'École polytechnique de Montréal, en 1989, ainsi que les autres victimes de violence sexiste. La journée, qui a été instituée par le Parlement en 1991, incite à l’élimination de toutes les formes de violence envers les femmes et les filles.

Le 8 mars
Le 8 mars


La Journée internationale de la femme (8 mars) a été créée par les Nations Unies en 1977. Reconnue à l’échelle internationale, la journée vise à célébrer les progrès dans la poursuite de l’égalité des sexes.

Le mois d’octobre
Le mois d’octobre


Le Mois de l’histoire des femmes (octobre) est un mois pendant lequel on cherche à offrir aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens des occasions d’apprendre comment les femmes et les filles ont contribué à façonner le pays. On le célèbre depuis 1992.

Le 11 octobre
Le 11 octobre


La Journée internationale des filles (11 octobre) est célébrée à l’échelle internationale. Elle attire l’attention sur les droits des filles à titre de personnes et met en relief les défis qui leur sont propres tout en encourageant le renforcement de leur autonomie. Cette journée a été établie en 2011.

Le 18 octobre
Le 18 octobre


La Journée de l’affaire « personne » (18 octobre) commémore la victoire de cinq Canadiennes : Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby et Nellie McClung. À l’issue d’une longue lutte, ces « Célèbres cinq » ont obtenu en 1929 la reconnaissance des femmes comme des « personnes » au sens de la loi, ce qui a ouvert aux Canadiennes la possibilité de siéger au Sénat. Chaque année, Condition féminine Canada administre les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne », décernés à cinq personnes qui ont contribué de façon exceptionnelle à l’avancement des femmes et des filles au Canada. La journée a été créée en 1979.

Date de modification: