Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Women Entrepreneurs

Background

Women entrepreneurs make significant contributions to the Canadian economy, but are underrepresented as a proportion of business owners and face challenges growing their businesses. RBC Economics estimates that women entrepreneurs were responsible for an aggregate contribution of $148 billion in economic activity in 2011. In addition, women-owned businesses currently employ an estimated 1.5 million Canadians. However, as of 2011, only 15.5% of small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) were majority owned by women. Women-owned SMEs exhibit lower growth rates and are less likely to export than those owned by men. Women are also less likely to apply for financing from lending institutions than men. Based on existing research, three overarching challenges for women entrepreneurs are: access to capital, access to markets (both domestic and international); and access to networks, mentors and champions.

The potential of women-owned businesses to contribute to the Canadian economy is recognized by the corporate sector. In November 2014, BMO announced it was making an additional $2 billion in credit available over the next three years to support the growing number of women entrepreneurs in Canada.

Current Status

In March 2015, Status of Women Canada (SWC) hosted the Women Entrepreneurs Forum: Investing in the Future. The Forum brought together over 350 Canadian women entrepreneurs, business networks, federal partners and other key stakeholders for a program focused on providing Canadian women entrepreneurs with the practical tools, networks and connections they need to reach their full growth potential.

SWC with federal partners has been undertaking a series of actions to support women entrepreneurs and to help connect women with the tools they need to succeed in business and leverage existing funding. For example, the Business Development Bank of Canada is making $700 million available over three years to finance women-owned businesses. Budget 2015 included a new investment of $350,000 over three years to SWC (2014/15-2017/18) to support:

Over the last year, SWC has coordinated women’s trade missions to Sao Paulo, Brazil and to the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council National Conference and Business Fair in Austin, Texas. Discussions were also held on supplier diversity, which encourages the use of historically underutilized businesses, including those owned by women, as suppliers. SWC works in collaboration with Industry Canada (IC) and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD), the federal leads on business development and international trade.

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Entrepreneures

Contexte

Collectivement, les entrepreneures font un apport considérable à l’économie canadienne : en 2011, cet apport atteignait 148 milliards de dollars selon les Services économiques RBC. Environ 1,5 million de personnes travaillent dans une petite ou moyenne entreprise (PME) appartenant majoritairement à des femmes. Néanmoins, l’entrepreneuriat reste une activité largement masculine et les entrepreneures qui veulent faire croître leurs entreprises doivent surmonter des défis particuliers. Les PME à propriété féminine affichent des taux de croissance inférieurs aux autres et tendent moins à exporter leurs produits et services. Comparativement aux entrepreneurs, les entrepreneures sont en outre moins susceptibles d’emprunter auprès d’institutions financières. Les recherches montrent qu’elles font face à trois défis majeurs : l’accès aux capitaux, l’accès aux marchés (nationaux et internationaux) et l’accès aux réseaux, y compris à l’accompagnement d’affaires (mentorat, marrainage et parrainage).

Le secteur privé reconnaît que l’entrepreneuriat féminin pourrait enrichir l’économie canadienne. Son essor a poussé la BMO à annoncer en novembre 2014 son intention de bonifier de deux milliards de dollars le crédit qu’elle mettra à la disposition des entreprises à propriété féminine au cours des trois prochaines années.

Situation actuelle

En mars 2015, Condition féminine Canada (CFC) a organisé un forum des entrepreneures, intitulé Investir dans l’avenir, qui a rassemblé plus de 350 entrepreneures canadiennes et un éventail de personnes représentant les associations d'affaires, le gouvernement fédéral et d'autres acteurs clés. Les entrepreneures participantes ont pu y élargir leurs réseaux et acquérir des outils pour concrétiser le plein potentiel de croissance de leur entreprise.

Dans le budget de 2015, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé la création d’un Plan d’action pour les entrepreneures. Le Plan assurera que les femmes aient accès aux outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir en affaires. Il met à profit les fonds existants, notamment les investissements de la Banque de développement du Canada, qui réservera 700 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour le financement d’entreprises à propriété féminine. Le Plan prévoit aussi une somme de 350 000 $ sur trois ans pour CFC (2014–2015 à 2017-2018), afin de permettre la réalisation des initiatives suivantes :

Au courant de la dernière année, CFC a coordonné des missions commerciales d’entrepreneures canadiennes à São Paulo (Brésil) et à la conférence du Women’s Business Enterprise National Council, à Austin (Texas). On y a aussi discuté de la diversification des fournisseurs, c’est-à-dire de favoriser le

recours à des fournisseurs normalement sous-utilisés, dont les entreprises à propriété féminine. CFC travaille avec les ministères fédéraux responsables du développement des affaires et du commerce international, à savoir Industrie Canada et le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement.

Date de modification: