Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Women in Leadership

Background

Gender diversity in public and private leadership is increasingly associated with more equal societies and more competitive advantage in business. Women leaders in democratic and economic life help to diminish social barriers for women by providing them with visible role models.

At all levels of governance, growth of women in elected positions has been incremental. However, few jurisdictions in Canada have achieved the 30% representation of women that the United Nations deems necessary in order for women to influence public policy. At the federal level, a record 26% of women were elected to the 42nd Parliament. At the provincial and territorial level, women represent roughly 23% of elected members; however, individual jurisdictions vary widely, from British Columbia at 36% to the Northwest Territories at 10.5%.

In terms of gender diversity in corporate leadership, as of October, 2014, 20.8% of board seats at companies listed on the S&P/TSX 60 index were held by women. Of Canada’s FP500 companies, those with the highest representation of women demonstrated stronger corporate management during times of economic uncertainty. At the federal level, women represent 33% of Governor-in-Council (GIC) appointees.

Current Status

In recent years, the federal government has sought to address the issue of leadership for women by promoting women’s increased participation on corporate boards. On June 26, 2014, the Government’s Advisory Council on Women on Boards released their final report, Good for Business: A Plan to Promote More Women on Canadian Boards, which included eleven recommendations to both the public and private sector. The Report included two key recommendations: that corporations aspire to 30% female board membership over five years (2014–2019) as a national goal to achieve gender balance; and the endorsement of a “comply or explain” model for corporate governance which would require companies to clarify why they have not implemented gender balance objectives.

On December 31, 2014, the Ontario Securities Commission formally adopted a “comply or explain” amendment to their disclosure requirements for corporate boards. Regulators in all jurisdictions with the exception of Yukon, BC, and Alberta have adopted similar requirements. Canadian Securities Administrators recently indicated that since the implementation of the amendment, 49% of TSX listed companies now have at least one woman on their board. However, they also noted that more needs to be done to increase the quality of disclosure and to increase transparency regarding the representation of women. Influential business leaders have recently formed a Canadian chapter of the UK-based 30% Club, which encourages corporations to aspire to 30% gender balance in board composition.

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Participation des femmes au pouvoir

Contexte

On associe de plus en plus la mixité du pouvoir au sein des secteurs public et privé à la compétitivité économique et à la création de sociétés égalitaires. Les femmes qui occupent des postes de pouvoir dans la sphère politique ou économique contribuent à réduire les barrières sociales pour leurs semblables en leur offrant des modèles de ce que les femmes peuvent faire.

Le nombre d’élues continue d’augmenter graduellement à tous les paliers gouvernementaux. Toutefois, peu d'administrations canadiennes ont atteint un taux de représentation de 30 %, seuil à partir duquel les femmes peuvent influer sur les politiques publiques selon les Nations Unies. Un nombre record de députées (26 %) ont été élues à la 42e législature du Canada. Dans les assemblées provinciales et territoriales, environ 23 % des sièges sont occupés par des députées, mais ce pourcentage varie énormément de l’une à l’autre — de 36 % en Colombie-Britannique à 10,5 % dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Pour ce qui est de la gouvernance des entreprises, en octobre 2014, les femmes occupaient 20,8 % des sièges aux conseils d’administration des entreprises inscrites à l’indice S&P/TSX 60. Parmi les entreprises canadiennes figurant au palmarès FP500, celles comptant le plus d’administratrices ont démontré une gestion plus robuste durant les périodes d’incertitude économique. Enfin, dans la fonction publique fédérale, les femmes occupent 33 % des postes pourvus par décret.

Situation actuelle

Au cours des dernières années, le gouvernement fédéral a voulu s’attaquer à la sous-représentation des femmes dans les lieux du pouvoir et, plus particulièrement, renforcer leur participation aux conseils d’administration. Le 26 juin 2014, le Conseil consultatif du gouvernement du Canada pour la présence des femmes aux conseils d'administration a déposé son rapport final, intitulé Bon pour les affaires : Plan pour accroître la participation des femmes aux conseils d'administration. Ce rapport comprenait 11 recommandations pour les secteurs public et privé, dont deux d’importance fondamentale, soit : que les entreprises du pays se donnent pour objectif de hausser à 30 % la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration en cinq ans (2014–2019); et qu’on intègre aux règles de gouvernance des sociétés le principe « se conformer ou s'expliquer » qui obligerait les intéressées à expliquer s'il y a lieu pourquoi elles n’ont pas atteint leurs objectifs de représentation.

Le 31 décembre 2014, la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario a officiellement modifié ses exigences de divulgation pour y inclure le principe « se conformer ou s’expliquer ». Ses homologues en ont fait autant, sauf celles du Yukon, de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta. L’administration de la Commission des valeurs mobilières a indiqué récemment que depuis l’entrée en vigueur de cette exigence, 49 % des entreprises inscrites à l’indice TSX ont maintenant au moins une femme qui siège à leur conseil d’administration. Toutefois, elle a également indiqué qu’il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour rehausser la qualité des divulgations et accroître la transparence en ce qui a trait à la représentation féminine. Des dirigeantes et dirigeants influents ont récemment ouvert la section canadienne du Club 30 %, club britannique qui a pour mission d’encourager les sociétés à tendre vers une représentation féminine de 30 % aux conseils d'administration.

Date de modification: