Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Status of Women Canada - Key Stakeholders

To fulfil its mandate, Status of Women Canada works with key stakeholders such as provincial/territorial governments, international partners and non-governmental organizations.

Provinces and Territories

The Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers (FPT) Responsible for the Status of Women is an intergovernmental body established in 1982 to share knowledge and information, and undertake collaborative initiatives related to advancing equality for women and girls. The Forum provides FPT Ministers with a collective and unique opportunity to lead and influence change on current and emerging issues related to women’s equality and the status of women in Canada. The Forum typically focuses on violence against women and girls, women’s economic security, and women in leadership.

Status of Women Canada is the federal chair of the Forum, and co-chairs with a provincial/territorial Minister responsible for the status of women on a rotational basis. The co-chair for the June 2016 meeting is Alberta. As Federal Chair, calls with your PT colleagues would provide an opportunity to discuss issues of mutual interest and, in turn, direct the work of the Forum.

International Fora

Status of Women Canada strategically focuses its international efforts within the United Nations (UN), given the UN’s framework of legally-binding human rights instruments and reporting requirements. These obligations provide support, guidance, and accountability for the advancement of gender equality in Canada. As the Minister of Status of Women, you will lead Canada’s delegation to the annual UN Commission on the Status of Women in March.

Status of Women Canada also works on a limited basis with other departments, governments, and representatives from international organizations to promote gender mainstreaming in multilateral institutions such as the Commonwealth, the Organization of American States (OAS), the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) as one of the ways to advance domestic policy objectives with respect to gender equality.

Standing Committee on the Status of Women

The Standing Committee on the Status of Women (FEWO) was first struck in the fall of 2004 in the 38th Parliament. Since then, FEWO has examined a range of gender equality issues. In its most recent session (41st Parliament, October 2013 – August 2015), FEWO released reports on eating disorders among girls and women; economic leadership and prosperity; violence against women; sexual harassment in the federal workplace; and women in science, technology, engineering and math. As FEWO is also responsible for reviewing the estimates and supplementary estimates of Status of Women Canada, you will likely be called before the Committee during its next session. You will also have the opportunity to engage with the Committee on key issues you would like to advance.

Other Parliamentary Committees periodically examine issues affecting women. For example, the Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration released their report in February 2015 on Strengthening the Protection of Women in our Immigration System.

Non-Governmental Organizations

Status of Women Canada works with a wide range of women’s and other equality seeking organizations in order to advance its priorities. These groups work across the country at local, regional and national levels on a broad range of gender equality issues such as violence against women and girls, women’s economic security, and women’s leadership. Below you will find information about key non-governmental organizations with whom you may wish to meet within the first few weeks of your appointment. In addition to these meetings, you may also wish to meet with or undertake a series of roundtables on pressing or emerging issues with a broader group of stakeholders from across Canada.

Canadian Women’s Foundation (CWF)

Key areas of work: violence, poverty, girls’ empowerment

The CWF is one of Canada’s strongest organizations working to empower women and girls in Canada. In addition to research, the CWF funds a range of programs for women. It is currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program for a project that addresses intimate partner violence across Canada.

President and CEO: Sheherazade Hirji
133 Richmond Street W., Suite 504,
Toronto, ON M5H 2L3
Tel: 416-365-1444
canadianwoman.org

YWCA Canada

Key areas of work: violence, economic security, women’s and girls’ leadership

YWCA Canada is the country’s oldest and largest women's multi-service organization. It is the largest national provider of shelter services to women, serving 25,000 women, children and teen girls each year, including 6,000 fleeing domestic violence. It provides literacy, life skills, employment and counseling programs as well as childcare services. The Women’s Program is currently funding a YWCA project to engage communities in preventing or eliminating cyberviolence against young women and girls across Canada, as well as a project to improve the delivery and coordination of community services for abused women coping with trauma, mental health and substance abuse.

CEO: Paulette Senior
104 Edward St., 1st Floor
Toronto ON M5G 0A7
Tel: 416-962-8881
ywcacanada.ca

Canadian Network of Women’s Shelters and Transition Houses

Key area of work: violence

The Canadian Network of Women’s Shelters and Transition Houses works to ensure women and children receive effective and compassionate support. It recently joined an informal group of academics, non-governmental organizations, trade unions and independent experts to publish a Blueprint for Canada’s National Action Plan on Violence against Women and Girls. The Women’s Program is currently funding a project with the Network to advance the coordination and implementation of services for women and children accessing shelters in Canada.

Board Members: Jan Reimer and Manon Monastesse
116 Albert Street, Suite 803
Ottawa, ON K1P 5G3
Tel: 613-680-5119
endvaw.ca

White Ribbon Campaign

Key area of work: engaging men and boys in violence prevention

The world’s largest movement of men and boys working to end violence against women and girls, White Ribbon positively engages men, young men and boys through educational programming that challenges language and behaviours. The Women’s Program is currently funding a White Ribbon project in which they are working with the Argonauts Football club to deliver a gender-based violence prevention initiative in secondary schools; as well as a second project to build a community of practice to address violence against women and girls by engaging men and boys.

Executive Director: Todd Minerson
36 Eglinton Avenue West
Suite 603
Toronto, ON M4R 1A1
Tel: 416-920-6684
http://www.whiteribbon.ca

Equal Voice

Key area of work: representation of women in elected positions

Equal Voice is the only national organization in Canada that works to achieve equal representation of women in elected political positions at the federal, provincial, territorial and municipal levels. For the past decade, Equal Voice has been tracking the number of women across all levels of governments. Equal Voice is not currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program.

National Chair: Ms. Lynne Hamilton
116 Albert, Suite 810
Ottawa, ON K1P 5G3
Tel: 613-236-0302
info@equalvoice.ca
http://www.equalvoice.ca/

Given that SWC plays a key role in addressing violence against women, including Indigenous women, you may wish to meet with National Aboriginal Organizations (NAOs). The following NAOs participated in the National Roundtable on Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls, held in February 2015.

Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC)

The NWAC works to enhance, promote, and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of First Nations and Métis women through activism, policy analysis and advocacy. Its priorities include finding solutions to violence against women; creating economic development and education opportunities for women; and the protection of women’s rights both nationally and internationally. NWAC has been calling for a national inquiry since the release of their Sisters in Spirit, What their Stories Tell Us Report in 2010, an initiative funded by SWC. NWAC is currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program for a project that provides tools and resources to promote safety and violence prevention for Aboriginal women and girls.

President: Dr. Dawn Lavell
1 Nicholas Street, Suite 900
Ottawa, ON K1N 7B7
Tel: 613-722-3033
nwac.ca

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit addresses a broad range of social, economic, and health issues facing Inuit women at the community, regional, national and international levels. Pauktuutit is currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program for a project to advance Inuit women’s participation in resource extraction industries.

President: Rebecca Kudloo
520 – 1 Nicholas St.
Ottawa, ON K1N 7B7
Tel: 613-238-3977
pauktuutit.ca

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP)

The CAP is a national representative organization for all off-reserve status and non-status Indians, Métis and Southern Inuit Aboriginal Peoples in Canada, and serves as the national voice for its provincial and territorial affiliate organizations. CAP is currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program for a project to engage men and boys in preventing violence.

National Chief: Dwight Dorey
867 St. Laurent Blvd.
Ottawa, ON K1K 3B1
Tel: 613-747-6022
abo-peoples.org

Assembly of First Nations (AFN)

The AFN is a national organization which advocates on behalf of over 900,000 First Nation citizens living in over 600 First Nation communities, as well as cities and towns across Canada. The AFN has called on the federal government to launch a national inquiry on missing and murdered Aboriginal women, and will be reviewing the government’s response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Report.

National Chief: Perry Bellegarde
55 Metcalfe Street
Suite 1600
Ottawa, ON K1P 6L5
Tel: 613-241-6789
afn.ca

Métis National Council (MNC)

Formed in 1983, the MNC’s central goal is “to secure a healthy space for the Métis Nation’s on-going existence within the Canadian federation.” The MNC is a confederation of five governing members from British Columbia to Ontario and represents the Métis Nation nationally and internationally. In September 2008, the Federal Interlocutor and President of the MNC signed the Métis Nation Protocol, to which the MNC attaches great importance and views as a touchstone guiding its political relationship with the federal government.

President: Clément Chartier
#4 – 340 MacLaren Street
Ottawa, ON, K2P 0M6
Tel: (613) 232-3216
metinations.ca

National Association of Friendship Centers (NAFC)

The NAFC was not part of the group of NAOs that participated in the National Roundtable on Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls, held in February 2015. However, it is one of the key interlocutors with the federal government on Aboriginal issues.

The NAFC is a network of 117 friendship centres from across Canada that provides culturally-enhanced programs and services to urban Aboriginal residents (status and non-status First Nations, Métis, Inuit and non-Aboriginal people). NAFC is currently receiving funding from the Women’s Program to prevent violence against Aboriginal women and girls through the design and delivery of an online mobile platform which will provide culturally relevant information and resources.

President or Chair: Nelson Mayer
275 MacLaren Street
Ottawa, ON K2P 0L9
Tel: 613-563-4844
nafc.ca

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Principales parties intéressées

Pour s’acquitter de son mandat, Condition féminine Canada travaille avec des parties intéressées, à savoir les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des partenaires internationaux et des organisations non gouvernementales.

Provinces et territoires

Le Forum fédéral-provincial-territorial (FPT) des ministres responsables de la condition féminine est une tribune intergouvernementale. Créé en 1982, le Forum permet l’échange de connaissances et d’information, ainsi que la réalisation d’initiatives conjointes liées à l’avancement des femmes et des filles. Le Forum offre aux ministres FPT un cadre singulier où impulser ensemble des changements dans les dossiers de l’égalité entre les sexes et de la condition féminine au Canada, qu’ils concernent des enjeux persistants ou nouveaux. Le Forum concentre généralement son attention sur la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, la sécurité économique des femmes, ainsi que l’accès des femmes au pouvoir.

Condition féminine Canada préside le Forum, tandis que la coprésidence alterne entre les ministres responsables de la condition féminine à l’échelon territorial ou provincial. L’Alberta copréside jusqu’à la prochaine réunion ministérielle, qui aura lieu en juin 2016. Étant donné que vous assumez la présidence du Forum, vous pourriez communiquer avec vos homologues des provinces et des territoires afin d’échanger sur vos préoccupations respectives et trouver des points communs; ceci permettrait d’orienter les travaux du Forum.

Tribunes internationales

Condition féminine Canada concentre ses efforts internationaux autour des activités de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), parce que celle-ci s’est dotée d’un cadre juridique contraignant en matière de droits de la personne, auquel sont assorties des obligations redditionnelles. Ces obligations soutiennent et orientent l’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes au Canada en plus de fixer des exigences de rapport sur la question. À titre de ministre de la Condition féminine, vous prendrez la tête de la délégation canadienne qui se rendra à la session annuelle de la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies, en mars prochain.

Parfois, Condition féminine Canada travaille aussi avec d’autres ministères, gouvernements et organisations internationales afin de promouvoir l’intégration des considérations liées à l’égalité des sexes aux activités d’organisations multilatérales comme le Commonwealth, l’Organisation des États américains, la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) et l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). En effet, ces activités peuvent être un moyen de faire avancer les objectifs stratégiques nationaux au regard de l’égalité entre les sexes.

Comité permanent de la condition féminine

Le Comité permanent de la condition féminine (FEWO) a été mis sur pied à l’automne 2004 au cours de la 38e législature. Depuis, le FEWO s’est penché sur un vaste éventail de questions liées à l’égalité entre les sexes. Durant la plus récente session (41e législature, d’octobre 2013 à août 2015), le FEWO a publié des rapports sur les troubles de l’alimentation chez les filles et les femmes, le leadership économique et la prospérité, la violence faite aux femmes, le harcèlement sexuel dans les lieux de travail fédéraux et les femmes dans les sciences, la technologie, le génie et les mathématiques. Puisque le FEWO est également responsable de l’examen des dépenses et des budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de Condition féminine Canada, il vous convoquera probablement durant la session. Vous aurez également l’occasion d’échanger avec le Comité sur des dossiers clés que vous aimeriez faire avancer.

D’autres comités parlementaires examinent périodiquement les enjeux qui touchent les femmes. Par exemple, le Comité permanent de la citoyenneté et de l’immigration a publié en février 2015 un rapport intitulé Renforcer la protection des femmes dans notre système d’immigration.

Organisations non gouvernementales

Pour faire avancer ses priorités, Condition féminine Canada travaille avec un large éventail de groupes de femmes et d’autres organisations vouées à l’avancement de l’égalité des sexes. Ces groupes travaillent partout au pays, à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale, sur une variété d’enjeux liés à l’égalité entre les sexes, par exemple la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, la sécurité économique des femmes et leur accès au pouvoir. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des renseignements sur les principales organisations non gouvernementales que vous aimeriez peut-être rencontrer dans les premières semaines qui suivront votre nomination. De surcroît, vous voudrez peut-être envisager la tenue de tables rondes ou d’assemblées sur des dossiers chauds dans diverses régions du pays, afin de pouvoir entendre un éventail plus large de parties intéressées.

La Fondation canadienne des femmes

Principaux domaines d’action : violence, pauvreté, autonomisation des filles

La Fondation est l’une des organisations les plus fortes au Canada qui œuvre à l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles. Outre la recherche, la Fondation finance une variété de programmes pour les femmes. Elle reçoit actuellement des fonds en vertu du Programme de promotion de la femme afin de réaliser un projet pancanadien portant sur la violence entre partenaires intimes.

Présidente et directrice générale : Sheherazade Hirji
133, rue Richmond Ouest
Bureau 504,
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 2L3
Tél. : 416-365-1444
canadianwoman.org

YWCA Canada

Principaux domaines d’action : violence, sécurité économique, pouvoir

YWCA Canada est le plus important et le plus ancien organisme multiservice pour les femmes au Canada. C’est le plus grand organisme national offrant des services d’hébergement aux femmes. Il accueille chaque année quelque 25 000 femmes, enfants et adolescentes, dont 6 000 qui fuient la violence familiale. YWCA offre des programmes d’alphabétisation, d’autonomie fonctionnelle, d’emploi et de counseling, ainsi que des services de garde d’enfants. Le Programme de promotion de la femme finance actuellement un projet de YWCA visant à mobiliser les collectivités en vue de prévenir ou d’éliminer la cyberviolence faite aux jeunes femmes et aux filles au Canada. Il finance également un projet visant à améliorer la prestation et la coordination de services communautaires destinés aux femmes victimes de violence et aux prises avec des traumatismes, des problèmes de santé mentale et la toxicomanie.

Directrice générale : Paulette Senior
104, rue Edward
1er étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 0A7
Tél. : 416-962-8881
ywcacanada.ca

Réseau canadien des maisons d’hébergement pour femmes

Principal domaine d’action : la violence

Le Réseau canadien des maisons d’hébergement pour femmes œuvre pour s’assurer que les femmes et les enfants reçoivent un soutien efficace et empreint de compassion. Le Réseau a récemment uni ses efforts à un groupe d’universitaires, d’organisations non gouvernementales, de syndicats ainsi que d’expertes et d’experts indépendants afin d’arriver au Modèle de Plan d’action national du Canada sur la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Le Programme de promotion de la femme finance actuellement un projet du Réseau visant à rehausser la coordination et l’offre de services à l’intention des femmes et des enfants se retrouvant dans des refuges au Canada.

Membres du conseil d’administration : Jan Reimer et Manon Monastesse
116, rue Albert
Bureau 803
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5G3
Tél. : 613-680-5119
endvaw.ca

Campagne du ruban blanc

Principal domaine d’action : mobilisation des hommes et des garçons dans la prévention de la violence

Il s’agit du plus grand mouvement mondial d’hommes et de garçons travaillant à mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles. Il mobilise positivement les hommes, les jeunes hommes et les garçons au moyen de programmes éducatifs remettant en question certains discours et comportements. Le Programme de promotion de la femme finance actuellement un projet de la Campagne du ruban blanc dans le cadre duquel le club de football des Argonauts visite des écoles secondaires afin de sensibiliser les jeunes à la prévention de la violence sexiste. Le Programme de promotion de la femme finance aussi un projet visant à créer une communauté de pratique sur la mobilisation des hommes et des garçons.

Directeur général : Todd Minerson
36, avenue Eglinton Ouest
Bureau 603
Toronto (Ontario) M4R 1A1
Tél. : 416-920-6684
http://www.whiteribbon.ca

À voix égales

Principal domaine d’action : représentation des femmes élues aux postes

À voix égales est le seul organisme national au Canada qui travaille à atteindre la représentation égale des femmes élues aux postes des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux de même que des administrations municipales. Depuis les dix dernières années, À voix égales effectue un suivi du nombre de femmes dans tous les ordres de gouvernement. L’organisme ne reçoit aucune aide financière du Programme de promotion de la femme en ce moment.

Présidente nationale : Lynne Hamilton
116, rue Albert, bureau 810
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5G3
Tél. : 613-236-0302
info@equalvoice.ca
http://www.equalvoice.ca/

Étant donné le rôle de CFC dans le dossier de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, incluant les femmes et les filles autochtones, vous voudrez peut-être rencontrer des organisations autochtones nationales. Les suivantes ont participé à la Table ronde nationale sur les femmes et les jeunes filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées qui a eu lieu en février 2015.

Association des femmes autochtones du Canada

L’Association a pour objectif d'améliorer et de promouvoir le bien-être social, économique, culturel et politique des femmes autochtones (autant les Métisses que les membres des Premières Nations), et ce, par le militantisme, la défense des droits et l’analyse des politiques. Ses priorités sont, entre autres : trouver des solutions pour éliminer la violence faite aux femmes; favoriser le développement économique et un meilleur accès à l’éducation pour les femmes, et protéger les droits des femmes à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Depuis la publication du rapport Ce que leurs histoires nous disent : Résultats de recherche de l’initiative Sœurs par l’esprit, en 2010, l’Association réclame une enquête nationale (l’initiative Sœurs par l’esprit a été financée par Condition féminine Canada). L’Association reçoit actuellement un financement du Programme de promotion de la femme pour réaliser un projet qui a pour objet d’offrir des outils et des ressources pour rehausser la sécurité des femmes et des filles autochtones et prévenir la violence à leur endroit.

Présidente : Dawn Lavell
1, rue Nicholas
Bureau 900
Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B7
Tél. : 613-722-3033
nwac.ca

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Pauktuutit se penche sur un large éventail d’enjeux sociaux, économiques et sanitaires touchant les Inuites à l’échelle communautaire, régionale, nationale et internationale. Le Programme de promotion de la femme finance actuellement un projet de cet organisme qui vise à stimuler la participation des Inuites aux industries extractives.

Présidente : Rebecca Kudloo
1, rue Nicholas
Bureau 520
Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B7
Tél. : 613-238-3977
pauktuutit.ca

Congrès des Peuples autochtones

Le Congrès des Peuples autochtones est une organisation nationale représentant l’ensemble des Indiennes et Indiens inscrits et non inscrits résidant hors réserve, les Métisses et Métis, ainsi que les Inuites et Inuits du sud. Il agit à titre de porte-parole national pour ses organismes affiliés provinciaux et territoriaux. Le Congrès reçoit actuellement un financement en vertu du Programme de promotion de la femme pour réaliser un projet visant à mobiliser les hommes et les garçons autour de la prévention de la violence à l’égard des femmes.

Chef national : Dwight Dorey
867, boulevard St-Laurent
Ottawa (Ontario) K1K 3B1
Tél. : 613-747-6022
abo-peoples.org

Assemblée des Premières Nations

L’Assemblée est une organisation nationale de défense des droits représentant plus de 900 000 citoyennes et citoyens des Premières Nations vivant dans quelque 600 collectivités autochtones, ainsi que dans des villes et des grands centres urbains au pays. L’Assemblée a demandé au gouvernement fédéral de déclencher une enquête nationale sur les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées et examinera la réponse du gouvernement au Rapport de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

Chef national : Perry Bellegarde
55, rue Metcalfe
Bureau 1600
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6L5
Tél. : 613-241-6789
afn.ca

Ralliement national des Métis (RNM)

Créé en 1983, l’organisme a comme but principal de garantir une place importante pour les Métisses et Métis au sein de la fédération canadienne. Le Ralliement est une confédération de cinq membres dirigeants, de la Colombie-Britannique à l’Ontario, et représente la nation métisse à l’échelle nationale et internationale. En septembre 2008, son interlocuteur fédéral et président a signé le Protocole avec la nation métisse. Pour l’organisme, ce protocole est très important puisqu’il sert à orienter sa relation politique avec le gouvernement fédéral.

Président : Clément Chartier
340, rue MacLaren
Bureau 4
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 0M6
Tél. : 613-232-3216
metisnations.ca

Association nationale des centres d’amitié

L’Association n’a pas participé à la Table ronde nationale sur les femmes et les jeunes filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées tenue en février 2015. Toutefois, c’est l’un des principaux interlocuteurs du gouvernement fédéral sur les questions autochtones.

L’Association est un réseau de 117 centres d’amitié situés un peu partout au Canada. Ces centres offrent des programmes et des services adaptés à la culture autochtone. Ils accueillent les Autochtones habitant en zone urbaine (Indiennes et Indiens inscrits ou non inscrits, membres des Premières Nations, Métisses et Métis, Inuites et Inuits, voire des non autochtones). L’Association reçoit actuellement un financement en vertu du Programme de promotion de la femme pour la réalisation d’un projet visant à concevoir une plateforme mobile où l’on pourra trouver de l’information et des ressources adaptées à la culture autochtone.

Président : Nelson Mayer
275, rue MacLaren
Ottawa (Ontario) K2P 0L9
Tél. : 613-563-4844
nafc.ca

Date de modification: