Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Women in Canada: Key Trends

Overview

Women and girls in Canada are doing comparatively well when measured against other western countries (see recent Women and Girls in Canada presentation outlining key themes). International reports continue to rank Canada highly for its achievement of gender equality. Most recently, the World Economic Forum’s 2014 Global Gender Gap Report ranked Canada 19th out of 142 countries, an improvement from 20th in 2013 and 21st in 2012.

In 2013, the UN Development Program’s Human Development Report (HDR), which assesses long-term progress in human development, ranked Canada 8th out of 187 countries. The HDR also includes the Gender Inequality Index (GII), which assesses the gender gap in indicators for health, education, labour force participation and parliamentary representation. In 2014, the GII ranked Canada 23rd out of 187 countries (down from 18th place in 2013). In 2012, TrustLaw, which ranks G20 countries on where it is best to be a woman, ranked Canada number 1. These rankings are primarily due to the gains women have made in education, labour force participation, health and parliamentary representation.

Despite these gains, Canadian women continue to face challenges in achieving full equality in Canada. Women earn less than their male counterparts, are less represented in positions of power, and are far more likely than men to be affected by most forms of violence. In addition, certain groups of women are more likely to be affected by these challenges, including Aboriginal women and girls, immigrant women, and rural women.

This document provides a brief snapshot of some of the key issues facing women in Canada, including:

Each section begins with an overview of positive trends within the domain, followed by sub-sections on key challenges going forward.

Note that more comprehensive statistical information on these and other issues such as women and health, women and the criminal justice system, women with disabilities, Aboriginal women, immigrant women and visible minority women can be found in the Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report from Statistics Canada. This document is currently being updated, with chapters being released over the course of 2015–2016.

Education and Skills Training

Education indicators for Canadian women are strong, with girls’ achievements outperforming those of boys as early as elementary school. As girls progress in education, they are more likely to graduate from high school in a shorter period of time and less likely to drop out. More women than men enroll in post secondary programs after completing high school, and more women complete these programs. This said, segmentation of women into certain educational disciplines leaves women unable to take advantage of employment opportunities in key growth sectors.

Positive Trends

Ongoing Challenges

Gender segmentation in education and training is a key challenge in terms of women’s educational achievement. Indicators of this include:

Figure 1: Women and Men in STEM Education

Source : Statistics Canada | Graphic: Amanda Shendruk

Figure 1: Women and Men in STEM Education

[Text version of Figure 1: Women and Men in STEM Education]

Image is a bar graph in green and blue. Green represents women; blue represents men.

The first bar shows all STEM graduates — 39% women; 61% men.

The second bar shows all non-STEM graduates — 66% women; 34% men.

The third bar shows all science and technology graduates — 59% women; 41% men.

The fourth bar shows engineering graduates — 23% women; 77% men.

The fifth bar shows math and computer science graduates — 30% women; 70% men.

Employment and Economic Wellbeing

Since the early 1980s, women have made increasing strides in terms of labour market participation and economic independence. At roughly 68%, Canada’s labour force participation rate for women aged 15 to 74 is fourth in the OECD and was 9% higher than the OECD average of 59%. Despite women’s increased economic participation, there are a number of challenges that continue to limit their economic potential, such as their overrepresentation in part-time work and disruptions in labour market attachment due to care responsibilities, both of which contribute to the gender wage gap.

Positive Trends

Labour force participation rate (15-64), by gender, 1976-2012

Figure 2: Labour Force Participation of Women 

Figure 2: Labour Force Participation of Women 1976–2012

Text version of Figure 2: Labour force participation rate (15-64), by gender, 1976-2012

The image is a line graph showing the rates of participation in the labour force by men and women aged 15 to 64.

Women are represented by a red line which begins with 51.4% in 1976 and rises to 74.3% in 2012.

Men are represented by a blue line which begins with 84.5% in 1976 and declines slightly to 81.6% in 2012.

Ongoing Challenges

Despite progress, the Gender Wage Gap remains a challenge for many Canadian women

Many factors influence women’s lower earnings in comparison to their male counterparts. These include:

Overall, women represent roughly 5% of all skilled trades workers in Canada

Marginalized women and the economy

Unpaid Work

Unpaid work refers to responsibilities that fall outside of formal employment, including child care, care for sick or elderly family members, and domestic work, including cleaning. Although women have traditionally done much of the unpaid work in a household, men are taking on an increased role. This said, women still provide the majority of high intensity care (15 hours or more). Their overrepresentation in unpaid work leaves women at a disadvantage in Canada’s increasingly competitive labour market.

Positive Trends

Ongoing Challenges

Despite these positive developments, women are still doing the bulk of unpaid work, which is a primary influence on their labour market attachment

Other forms of care

Leadership and Democratic Participation

Canadian women continue to gain ground in terms of representation at the highest levels of economic and political life. However, change is coming slowly. While new provincial and territorial guidelines regarding transparency on board gender balance have been introduced across jurisdictions, the long term impacts of this are yet to be seen. At the political level, women’s representation falls under the 30% threshold defined by the UN as the minimum level necessary for women to exercise real influence. Research suggests that women are more engaged at the grassroots level of democracy as opposed to seeking elected positions.

Positive Trends

Ongoing Challenges

Women under-represented on private sector boards

Women under-represented in decision-making positions over-all

Figure 3: Canadian Women in Business Leadership

Sources
Catalyst, Women CEOs and Heads of the Financial Post 500 (2 janiver 2015) and additional Catalyst research and analysis
Liz Mulligan-Ferry, Mark J. Bartkiewicz, Rachel Soares, Amrita Singh, et Imogene Winkleman, 2013 Catalyst Census: Financial Post 500 Women Board Directors (2014)
Liz Mulligan-Ferry, Andrew Malordy, et Ashley Peter, 2012 Catalyst Census: Financial Post 500 Women Senior Officers and Top Earners (2013)
Statistics Canada, Table 282-0010 Labour Force Survey Estimates (LFS), by National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) and Sex Annual Characteristics: Employment (January 2014)

Figure 3: Canadian Women in Business Leadership

[Text version of Figure 3: Canadian Women in Business Leadership]

The image is a triangle divided horizontally into seven sections. The first six sections of the triangle are in different shades of blue with white text. The bottom section is in red with white text.

The top of the triangle is the smallest section and represents the 4.9% of CEOs/Heads who are women.

The section just underneath represents the 6.9% of top earners who are women.

The third section represents women board directors at 15.9%.

The fourth section is women senior officers, at 18.1%.

The fifth section represents the percentage of women in management occupations, with 35.7%.

The sixth section represents the percentage of women in the Canadian Labour Force, with 47.3%.

At the bottom of the triangle, the chart is labeled “Canadian Women in Business”.

Women under-represented in politics

Figure 4: Women's Political Representation in Canadian Provinces and Territories

Figure 4: Women's Political Representation in Canadian Provinces and Territories

[Text version of Figure 4: Women's Political Representation in Canadian Provinces and Territories]

The image is a bar graph. The title is “Political Representation of Women, Provincial/Territiorial”

On the y axis are percentages ranging from 0.00 to 100.00. On the x axis, the provinces and territories are listed in the following order (from left to right): Northwest Territories (NWT), Nunavut (NU), Yukon (YK), Newfoundland and Labrador (NL), Prince Edward Island (PEI), New Brunswick (NB), Nova Scotia (NS), Quebec (QC), Ontario (ON), Manitoba (MB), Saskatchewan (SK), Alberta (AB) and British Columbia (BC). Women are represented by a red bar, men by a blue.

The data displayed is as follows (percentages are approximate):

The graph is credited to Equal Voice, 2014.

Violence Against Women and Girls

The issue of violence against women and girls continues to be a complex challenge. Rates of sexual assault and intimate partner violence have remained persistently high in Canada, with 1.8 million Canadians, the majority of whom are women, reporting having experienced one of these forms of violence in the past five years. The issue of violence is particularly acute with respect to Aboriginal women and girls in Canada.

Positive Trends

Ongoing Challenges

Women are particularly vulnerable to certain forms of violence. Women:

Underreporting is a serious challenge

Figure 5: Underreporting of Sexual Violence in Canada

Source : Johnson, "Limits of a Criminal Justice Response: Trends in Police and court Processing of Sexual Asssault" in Sheehy, Sexual Assault in Canada: Law, Legal Practice and Women's Activism, 2012.

Figure 5 Underreporting of Sexual Violence in Canada

[Text version of Figure 5: Underreporting of Sexual Violence in Canada]

The title of the image is “There are 460,000 sexual assaults in Canada every year”. The image shows a circle containing the words “out of every 1,000 sexual assaults”. Sections of this circle are labeled as follows:

Certain groups of women are more likely to face victimization

Aboriginal women across the country experience significantly more violence than non-aboriginal women

Figure 6: Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women

Figure 6 Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women

[Text version of Figure 6: Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women]

The image title is “By the Numbers”. It shows data for all police jurisdictions in Canada.

On the left is a shaded box containing the following text: “In 2013, there were 671, 554 Aboriginal females in Canada, which represented 4.3% of the female population.”

In the centre, is a pie chart entitled “Missing and murdered Aboriginal females. The total number represented by the pie chart is 1,181. The smallest section of the pie chart is light blue and represents the 164 missing Aboriginal women, based on data from CPIC. It is labeled as follows: “11.3% of all missing females on record”.

The larger section of the pie chart is dark blue and represents all 1,017 Aboriginal women and girls murdered between 1980 and 2012. This section is labeled as follows: “Represents 5% of all murders on record” and “represents 16% of all murdered females”.

Both sections of the pie chart are labeled: “Aboriginal females are over-represented”.

On the right side of the image is a box entitled: “Total unsolved Aboriginal female occurrences”. Beneath the title, the number 225 appears. Underneath this is a circle divided into two sections. The section on the left represents unsolved homicides and contains the number 120. The section on the right contains the number 105 and represents missing women (unknown or foul play suspected).

Underneath this, homicide solve rates are displayed. On the left, it shows that 88% (897 of 1,017) of the murders of Aboriginal females have been solved; for female Aboriginal victims involved in the sex trade, the solve rate was 60%. On the right is the homicide solve rate for non-Aboriginal females, at 89%; 65% for non-Aboriginal female victims involved in the sex trade.

Higher rates of violence against Aboriginal women are associated with socio-economic factors. Aboriginal women at risk of violence are more likely to:

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Les femmes au Canada : principales tendances

Aperçu

La situation des Canadiennes est plutôt bonne si on la compare à celle des femmes d’autres pays occidentaux (consultez la récente présentation sur les femmes et les filles au Canada pour un survol des thèmes clés). Dans les rapports internationaux, le Canada continue de figurer parmi les pays les plus égalitaires. Le Forum économique mondial le classe 19e sur 142 États dans son plus récent rapport sur l’égalité des sexes (Global Gender Gap Index, 2014, disponible en anglais seulement), une amélioration par rapport à 2013 et à 2012, où le Canada s’est classé respectivement au 20e et au 21e rang.

En 2013, dans le Rapport sur le développement humain du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement humain, le Canada se classe 8e sur 187 pays. Le rapport, qui évalue les progrès à long terme sur le plan du développement humain, comprend également un Index d’inégalité de genre qui détermine l’écart entre les sexes du point de vue de différents indicateurs : santé, éducation, participation au marché du travail et représentation parlementaire. En 2014, le Canada s’est classé 23e sur 187 États dans cet index, un recul par rapport à sa 18e place l’année précédente. En 2012, le Canada est arrivé au 1er rang des pays du G20 dans un rapport de TrustLaw, qui avait évalué le meilleur endroit où vivre pour les femmes. Un certain nombre de facteurs contribuent aux bons résultats du Canada, dont le niveau de scolarisation des femmes, leur participation au marché du travail, leur accès aux soins de santé et leur représentation parlementaire.

Malgré ces gains, les Canadiennes n’ont pas encore atteint la pleine égalité avec les Canadiens. Elles continuent en effet de gagner moins que leurs homologues masculins, d’occuper moins de postes de pouvoir et d’être plus souvent victimes de la plupart des formes de violence. En outre, ces désavantages touchent plus particulièrement certaines populations de femmes et de filles, notamment celles des régions rurales, les immigrantes et les Autochtones.

Le présent document décrit brièvement quelques-uns des grands thèmes de la situation actuelle des Canadienne, incluant :

Pour chaque thème, il donne un aperçu des tendances positives, puis résume les défis principaux à relever.

Veuillez noter que vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements et statistiques sur ces sujets et d’autres questions touchant les femmes et la santé, les femmes et le système de justice pénale, les femmes handicapées, les Autochtones, les immigrantes et les femmes de minorités visibles dans le rapport Femmes au Canada : rapport statistique fondé sur le sexe. On est présentement à réviser ce document et on rendra public certains chapitres au cours de 2015–2016.

Éducation et formation professionnelle

Les indicateurs révèlent que les Canadiennes devancent les Canadiens en matière d’éducation, et ce, dès le primaire. Les Canadiennes achèvent généralement leur diplôme d’études secondaires en moins d’années que les Canadiens et sont moins touchées par le décrochage. Les programmes d’études postsecondaires comptent dans l’ensemble plus d’étudiantes que d’étudiants, et la majorité des diplômes sont décernés à des femmes. Or, parce qu’elles se cantonnent à certaines disciplines, les femmes profitent moins des occasions d’emploi dans les secteurs qui connaissent la plus forte croissance.

Tendances positives

Défis persistants

D’après les indicateurs, la segmentation genrée de la formation professionnelle et des études est le principal défi à relever en ce qui concerne l’instruction :

STGM : ventilation des diplômes par sexe, 2011

Figure 1 : Femmes et hommes dans les STGM 

Figure 1 : Femmes et hommes dans les STGM

Source : Traduction d'un graphique d'Amanda Shendruk. Données de Statistique Canada

[Version textuelle de la figure 1: Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens dans les STGM, 2011]

L’image est un graphique à barres. Les barres sont vertes et bleues. Le vert représente les femmes; le bleu représente les hommes.

La première barre indique l’ensemble des titulaires de diplômes en STEGMA — 39 % de femmes et 61 % d’hommes.

La deuxième barre indique l’ensemble des personnes qui ne sont pas titulaires d’un diplôme en STEGMA — 66 % de femmes et 34 % d’hommes.

La troisième barre indique l’ensemble des titulaires de diplômes en sciences et technologies — 59 % de femmes et 41 % d’hommes.

La quatrième barre indique l’ensemble des titulaires de diplômes en génie — 23 % de femmes et 77 % d’hommes.

La cinquième barre indique l’ensemble des titulaires de diplômes en sciences — 30 % de femmes et 70 % d’hommes.

Emploi et bien-être économique

Depuis le début des années1980, les femmes ont renforcé leur autonomie économique grâce à d’énormes avancées sur le marché du travail. À environ 68 %, le taux de participation des Canadiennes de 15 à 74 ans au marché du travail se situe au quatrième rang parmi les pays de l’OCDE, et dépasse de 9 % la moyenne de 59 % de l’OCDE. Néanmoins, leur potentiel de gains reste limité, notamment par le fait qu’elles occupent la majorité des postes à temps partiel et qu’elles doivent souvent interrompre leur participation au marché du travail pour s’occuper d’autrui, ce qui contribue à creuser l’écart salarial entre les sexes.

Tendances positives

Participation au marché du travail selon le sexe, 1976 à 2012
(Canadiennes et Canadiens de 15 à 64 ans)

Figure 2 : Participation des femmes au marché du travail, de 1976 à 2012

Figure 2 : Participation des femmes au marché du travail, de 1976 à 2012

[Version textuelle de la figure 2 : Participation des femmes au marché du travail, de 1976 à 2012]

L’image est un graphique en segments qui indique les taux de participation au marché du travail des hommes et des femmes de 15 à 64 ans.

Les femmes sont représentées par une ligne rouge qui commence par un pourcentage de 51,4 %, en 1976, qui grimpe jusqu’à 74,3 %, en 2012.

Les hommes sont représentés par une ligne bleue qui commence par un pourcentage de 84,5 %, en 1976, qui décline légèrement jusqu’à 81,6 % en 2012.

Défis persistants

Malgré ces progrès, l’écart salarial entre les sexes reste un défi pour plusieurs Canadiennes.

Les femmes gagnent moins que les hommes, ce qui tient à plusieurs facteurs :

Dans l’ensemble, les femmes représentent près de 5 % de la main d’œuvre dans les métiers spécialisés au Canada.

Les femmes marginalisées et l’économie 

Travail non rémunéré

Le travail non rémunéré est celui qui est accompli en dehors du marché du travail structuré. Il peut comprendre les soins aux enfants, les soins à des membres de la famille malades ou âgés, ainsi que le travail ménager, dont le nettoyage. Bien que les femmes aient traditionnellement fait la majorité du travail non rémunéré, les hommes jouent maintenant un rôle plus important. Cela dit, ce sont encore généralement les femmes qui fournissent les soins d’intensité élevée (15 heures ou plus). Dans le marché du travail canadien de plus en plus concurrentiel, les femmes se trouvent défavorisées en raison du nombre d’heures qu’elles consacrent au travail non rémunéré.

Tendances positives

Défis persistants

En dépit des progrès réalisés, les femmes font encore la majeure partie du travail non rémunéré, ce qui nuit à leur participation active au marché du travail :

Autres types de soins :

Pouvoir et participation démocratique

La représentation des Canadiennes aux plus hauts échelons des sphères économique et politique continue de progresser. Toutefois, les changements se font lentement. Les provinces et les territoires ont mis en œuvre de nouvelles lignes directrices sur la déclaration de la représentation des femmes aux conseils d’administration, mais les effets à long terme tardent à se faire sentir. Dans la sphère politique, la représentation des femmes passe sous le seuil des 30 %, le niveau minimal nécessaire établi par les Nations Unies pour que les femmes exercent une réelle influence. Les recherches indiquent que les femmes privilégient l’engagement dans les activités communautaires plutôt que de briguer les suffrages.

Tendances positives

Défis persistants

Les femmes sous-représentées dans les conseils d’administration du secteur privé

Les femmes sous-représentées dans l’ensemble des postes décisionnels

Les femmes représentent plus de 47 % de la population active canadienne, mais sont sous-représentées dans les postes décisionnels

Sources
Catalyst, Women CEOs and Heads of the Financial Post 500 (2 janiver 2015) et autres recherches et analyses de Catalyst
Liz Mulligan-Ferry, Mark J. Bartkiewicz, Rachel Soares, Amrita Singh, et Imogene Winkleman, 2013 Catalyst Census: Financial Post 500 Women Board Directors (2014)
Liz Mulligan-Ferry, Andrew Malordy, et Ashley Peter, 2012 Catalyst Census: Financial Post 500 Women Senior Officers and Top Earners (2013)
Statistique Canada, Tableau 282-0010 Les estimations de l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA), Classification nationale des professions pour statistiques (CNP-S)(janvier 2014)
Statistique Canada, Tableau 282-0002 Les estimations de l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA), Estimations selon le sexe et le groupe d'âge détaillé annuel, 15 ans et plus (janvier 2014)

Figure 3 : Les femmes dans des postes décisionnels

[Version textuelle de la figure 3 : Représentation des femmes en politique provinciale et territoriale]

L’image est un triangle divisé horizontalement en sept sections. Les six premières sections ont diverses teintes de bleu et contiennent du texte en blanc. Dans la section du bas. Le fond est rouge et le texte est blanc.

Le sommet du triangle est la plus petite section; il représente les 4,9 % de femmes PDG ou chefs de la direction.

La section tout juste en dessous indique que 6,9 % des personnes qui gagnent un haut salaire sont des femmes.

La troisième section indique que 15,9 % de membres des conseils d’administration sont des femmes.

La quatrième section indique que 18,1 % des hauts cadres sont des femmes.

La cinquième section indique que 35,7 % des gestionnaires sont des femmes.

La sixième section présente le pourcentage des femmes au sein de la population active canadienne, soit 47,3 %.

Au bas du triangle se trouve le titre du graphique : « Les Canadiennes dans les entreprises ».

Les femmes sous-représentées en politique

Figure 4 : Représentation des femmes en politique provinciale et territoriale

Figure 4 : Représentation des femmes en politique provinciale et territoriale

[Version textuelle de la figure 4 : Représentation des femmes en politique provinciale et territoriale]

L’image est un triangle divisé horizontalement en sept sections. Les six premières sections ont diverses teintes de bleu et contiennent du texte en blanc. Dans la section du bas. Le fond est rouge et le texte est blanc.

L’image est un graphique à barres. Elle a pour titre « Représentation des femmes en politique provinciale et territoriale ».

La représentation des femmes dans tous les ordres de gouvernement au Canada, y compris à l’échelon provincial et territorial (Figure 4), est faible comparativement à celle des hommes.

On trouve sur l’axe y des pourcentages s’échelonnant de 0,00 à 100,00. On trouve sur l’axe x la liste des provinces et des territoires, dans l’ordre suivant (de gauche à droite) : Territoires du Nord-Ouest (TNO), Nunavut (NU), Yukon (YK), Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (TNL), Île-du-Prince-Édouard (IPE), Nouveau-Brunswick (NB), Nouvelle-Écosse (NS), Québec (QC), Ontario (ON), Manitoba (MB), Saskatchewan (SK), Alberta (AB) et Colombie-Britannique (BC). Les femmes sont représentées par une barre rouge, les hommes par une bleue.

Les données sont présentées comme suit (les pourcentages sont approximatifs)

Le graphique est attribué à À voix égales, 2014.

Violence faite aux femmes et aux filles

L’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles continue de poser un défi complexe. Les taux d’agressions sexuelles et de violence entre partenaires intimes demeurent élevés au Canada. Des 1,8 million de personnes ayant déclaré avoir été victimes d’une de ces formes de violence au cours des cinq dernières années, la majorité sont des femmes. Les femmes et les filles autochtones sont en outre particulièrement touchées par la violence au Canada.

Tendances positives

Défis persistants

Les femmes sont particulièrement vulnérables à certaines formes de violence :

La sous-déclaration constitue un problème important :

Figure 5 : Sous-déclaration de la violence sexuelle au Canada

Source : Johnson, "Limits of a Criminal Justice Response: Trends in Police and court Processing of Sexual Asssault" dans Sheehy, Sexual Assault in Canada: Law, Legal Practice and Women's Activism, 2012.

Figure 5 : Sous-déclaration de la violence sexuelle au Canada

[Version textuelle de la figure 5 : Sous-déclaration de la violence sexuelle au Canada

L’image s’intitule : « 460 000 agressions sexuelles surviennent au Canada chaque année ». Elle contient un cercle où l’on peut lire : « sur chaque 1000 agressions sexuelles ». Les sections de ce cercle portent les mentions suivantes :

Certaines populations de femmes sont plus susceptibles d’être victimes de violence :

Partout au pays, les femmes autochtones sont considérablement plus susceptibles d’être victimes de violence que les femmes non autochtones :

Figure 6 : Femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées

Figure 6 : Femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées

[Version textuelle de la figure 6 : Femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées]

L’image s’intitule « Les chiffres ». Elle présente des données pour tous les services de police au Canada.

On trouve à gauche un encadré grisé contenant le texte suivant : « En 2013, il y avait 671 554 femmes autochtones au Canada. Elles représentaient 4,3 % de la population féminine. »

On trouve au centre un diagramme à secteurs intitulé : « Femmes autochtones assassinées ou disparues ». Le nombre total de femmes sur lequel porte le diagramme est de 1181. Le plus petit secteur du diagramme est bleu pâle et représente les 164 femmes autochtones portées disparues, selon les données du CIPC. On y trouve la mention suivante : « Soit 11,3 % de toutes les femmes portées disparues ».

Le plus grand secteur du diagramme est bleu foncé et représente l’ensemble des 1017 femmes et filles autochtones assassinées de 1980 à 2012. Cette section porte les mentions suivantes : « Soit 5 % de tous les meurtres » et « Soit 16 % des femmes assassinées ».

Les deux secteurs du diagramme à secteurs portent la mention suivante : « Les femmes autochtones sont surreprésentées ».

On trouve à la droite de l’image un encadré intitulé : « Cas non résolus concernant des femmes autochtones ». Le chiffre 225 est inscrit sous le titre. Sous ce chiffre, on trouve un cercle divisé en deux sections. La section de gauche représente les meurtres non résolus et affiche le chiffre 120. La section de droite affiche le chiffre 105 et représente les femmes disparues (causes inconnues ou soupçons d’actes suspects).

On affiche ensuite, sous le cercle, le taux de résolution des homicides. À gauche, on indique que 88 % (897 sur 1017) des meurtres de femmes autochtones ont été résolus; dans le cas des femmes autochtones dans l’industrie du sexe, le taux de résolution a été de 60 %. On présente à droite le taux de résolution des homicides de femmes non autochtones, soit 89 %; 65 % des femmes non autochtones victimes de meurtre travaillaient dans l’industrie du sexe.

On associe les taux plus élevés de violence contre les femmes autochtones à des facteurs socioéconomiques :

Date de modification: