Status of Women Canada Ministerial Transition Book
Introduction: Status of Women Canada

Status of Women Canada was established in 1976 to “coordinate policy with respect to the Status of Women and administer related programs”. It was created in response to the recommendations released in 1970 by the Royal Commission on the Status of Women, which included among its 167 recommendations the need for a federal representative for women.

Given the ongoing challenges facing women and girls in Canada, including high rates of violence against women and girls, the gender wage gap, a greater burden of child care and other forms of care, and a lack of women in leadership positions, the need for a federal agency dedicated solely to issues affecting women is as relevant today as it was 40 years ago.

While Status of Women Canada is not governed by specific legislation or regulations, the Agency works within the context of a number of federal and international legal instruments that support the principle of gender equality such as: the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Canadian Human Rights Act and the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW).

Status of Women Canada is within the Canadian Heritage portfolio and is a separate departmental agency headed by a Deputy Head appointed by the Prime Minister.

The Agency’s goal is to advance equality for women by promoting their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada. Status of Women Canada works to eliminate barriers to women’s participation, currently focusing its efforts in three priority areas:

To deliver on its mandate, the Agency leads key policy initiatives on issues affecting women and girls, such as missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls. It also provides expert advice across the federal government and in international fora on longstanding and emerging gender equality issues. SWC leads the Government’s implementation of Gender-Based Analysis (GBA) and builds capacity among federal organizations through the development and delivery of GBA tools and training.

Through the Women’s Program, Status of Women Canada provides financial support for projects proposed by women’s and other Canadian organizations to advance gender equality. The Agency also promotes a number of commemorative events that celebrate women’s historical milestones and raise awareness of specific issues facing women and girls in Canada.

Date modified:

Cahier de breffage ministériel de Condition féminine Canada
Introduction : Condition féminine Canada

Condition féminine Canada a vu le jour en 1976 en réponse aux travaux de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme au Canada et a reçu pour mandat « de coordonner les politiques relatives à la situation de la femme et de gérer les programmes qui s’y rapportent ». L’une des 167 recommandations contenues dans le rapport publié en 1970 par la Commission était justement la création d’un mécanisme fédéral pour représenter les intérêts des femmes.

Il reste aussi nécessaire qu’il y a 40 ans d’avoir un organisme fédéral se consacrant uniquement aux questions qui touchent les femmes et les filles, car les Canadiennes continuent de se buter à des difficultés. Celles-ci incluent : les taux élevés de violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, l’écart salarial entre les sexes, la faible représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision ainsi que leur part démesurée du fardeau de la garde des enfants et d’autres soins.

Bien que Condition féminine Canada ne soit pas régi par une loi ou un règlement précis, il œuvre dans le contexte d’un certain nombre d’instruments juridiques fédéraux et internationaux qui appuient le principe de l’égalité entre les sexes, notamment·: la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes.

Condition féminine Canada est un organisme distinct à l’intérieur du portefeuille de Patrimoine canadien. Il est administré par une administratrice générale, nommée par le premier ministre ou, le cas échéant, la première ministre.

L'organisme a pour mandat de faire progresser l'égalité des sexes en favorisant la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada. Condition féminine Canada travaille à éliminer les obstacles à la participation des femmes et concentre actuellement ses efforts dans trois domaines prioritaires :

Afin de s’acquitter de son mandat, l’organisme mène de grandes initiatives stratégiques portant sur des enjeux qui touchent les femmes et les filles, notamment les femmes et les jeunes filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Il formule aussi, à l’intention de l’administration fédérale et d’instances internationales, des conseils spécialisés concernant les enjeux nouveaux ou persistants ayant trait à l’égalité entre les sexes. Condition féminine Canada dirige la mise en œuvre de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (ACS) au sein du gouvernement et renforce la capacité des organismes fédéraux en la matière grâce aux outils et à la formation qu’il conçoit.

Au moyen de son Programme de promotion de la femme, Condition féminine Canada finance les projets proposés par des groupes de femmes et d’autres organismes canadiens qui ont pour but de faire progresser l’égalité des sexes. Au fil de l’année, Condition féminine Canada marque certaines dates qui commémorent des jalons dans l’histoire des femmes ou sensibilisent la population aux enjeux propres aux femmes et aux filles au Canada.

Date de modification: