Gender-based Analysis Plus

Government of Canada's Approach

Sex vs. Gender

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) begins with sex and gender. The physical characteristics that distinguish male from female (sex) and the socially, culturally and historically defined characteristics associated with “feminine” and “masculine” (gender) are both important ways to identify individuals who may experience an issue in a similar way.

Not all individuals identify with a binary concept of sex or gender categories of male and female, masculine and feminine. They can exist on a continuum, and can change over time.

Fig. 1 - Gender spectrum
[Text version of Fig. 1 - Gender spectrum]

This figure illustrates that gender is a spectrum with femininity on one extreme and masculinity on the other. In a black box with a white background, the symbol for women is located at the left side, under which is “femininity” is written in black. A band multicolor rectangle, changing from red on the left to blue on the right, leads to the symbol for men on the right side. Under the symbol is “masculinity” in black.

What about the “plus”?

We can use sex and gender as an entry point for analyzing an issue, but women, men, boys and girls are not homogeneous groups. A variety of factors, sometimes referred to as identities, such as age, culture, language, sexual orientation, education, ability, geographic location, migration status, faith, ethnicity, and socio-economic status, intersect with sex and gender to create someone’s experiences.

Fig. 2 - Intersectionality
[Text version of Fig. 2 - Intersectionality]

This figure illustrates some of the factors which can intersect with sex and gender. Six oblong shapes of differing colors overlap and fan out. Each oblong has two identity factors written on it. The top oblong has “sex and gender” written in a larger font. Starting below sex and gender and going clockwise, the additional identities identified are: geography, culture, income, sexual orientation, education, ethnicity, ability, age, religion and language.

By using GBA+, we are guided to examine the factors that intersect with sex and gender to shape individual and group experiences and, ultimately, how these experiences influence the achievement of the intended outcomes of initiatives.

Our Commitment

Did you know that GBA+ is recognized as a key competency in support of the development of effective programs and policies for Canadians?

The Government of Canada has been committed to using GBA+ in the development of policies, programs and legislation since 1995. It provides federal officials with the means to continually improve their work and attain better results for Canadians by being more responsive to specific needs and circumstances.

The Government recently renewed its commitment to GBA+ and is working to strengthen its implementation across all federal departments.

To learn more about the Government’s renewed commitment, including its response to the 2015 Report of the Auditor General of Canada “Implementing Gender-based Analysis”, view the:

GBA+ Logo

Action Plan on Gender-based Analysis (2016-2020)
View the Action Plan in HTML
View the Action Plan in PDF

GBA+ is everyone's responsibility

Status of Women Canada plays a leadership role in the government-wide implementation of GBA+; however, the commitment to GBA+ is a shared responsibility across all departments and agencies.

All federal officials should incorporate GBA+ into their work by asking some basic questions and challenging personal assumptions about diverse groups of women and men. Through the systematic use of GBA+, federal officials are able to improve their work, ensuring it is inclusive of diverse perspectives.

Status of Women Canada:

  • Facilitates transfer of GBA+ knowledge
  • Provides technical assistance to departments and agencies
  • Develops GBA+ tools and training

Central agencies:

  • Exercise a challenge function
  • Provide guidance on incorporating GBA+ where appropriate

Federal departments and agencies

  • Conduct GBA+
  • Integrate and sustain the practice of GBA+
  • Monitor and report on GBA+ practice and outcomes
GBA+ logo

For more information on the roles and responsibilities for GBA+ in the federal government, see Module 4 of the Introduction to GBA+ online course.

Date modified:

Approche du gouvernement du Canada

L'analyse comparative entre les sexes plus

Le sexe et le genre

L’Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) repose sur le sexe et le genre. Les caractéristiques physiques qui distinguent les femmes des hommes (le sexe) et les caractéristiques définies socialement, culturellement et historiquement comme étant « féminines » ou « masculines » (le genre) sont d’importantes façons de regrouper les personnes qui pourraient vivre une situation de la même façon.

Ce n’est pas tout le monde qui s’identifie à une conception binaire du sexe (femme ou homme) ou du genre (féminin ou masculin). Ces catégories s’inscrivent dans un continuum et peuvent évoluer dans le temps.

Fig. 1 – Spectre du genre
[Version textuelle de la Fig. 1 – Spectre du genre]

L’image illustre que le genre se situe sur un spectre dont une extrémité représente la féminité et l’autre la masculinité. Dans un rectangle bordé en noir sur fond blanc, le symbole de la femme, sous lequel est écrit « féminité » en noir, est situé à la gauche d’une bande rectangulaire multicolore, qui va du rouge au bleu de la gauche à la droite, et le symbole de l’homme, sous lequel est écrit « masculinité » en noir, se situe à l’extrémité droite de l’image.

Qu’en est-il du « plus »?

L’analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre peut servir de porte d’entrée à l’étude d’une question donnée, mais les femmes, les hommes, les filles et les garçons ne forment pas des populations homogènes. Un ensemble de facteurs interagissent avec le sexe et le genre pour constituer le vécu de chacune et de chacun. Ces facteurs, souvent dits facteurs identitaires, incluent l’âge, la culture, la langue, l’orientation sexuelle, la scolarité, le handicap, le lieu de résidence, le statut de migration, la religion, l’origine ethnique et le statut socioéconomique.

Fig. 2 – Facteurs intersectionnels
[Version textuelle de la Fig. 2 – Facteurs intersectionnels]

La figure illustre certains facteurs qui peuvent se recouper avec le sexe et le genre. Six formes oblongues de différentes couleurs se chevauchent et sont étalées en éventail. Sur chaque forme sont inscrits deux facteurs identitaires. Sur la forme qui se trouve sur le dessus des autres formes est inscrit « Sexe et genre » en gros caractères. Sous la forme « Sexe et genre » (dans le sens horaire), les autres facteurs identitaires sont : le lieu de résidence, la culture, le revenu, l’orientation sexuelle, la scolarité, l’origine ethnique, le handicap, l’âge, la religion et la langue.

Grâce à l’ACS+, il est possible de tenir compte des facteurs qui, par leurs recoupements avec le sexe et le genre, façonnent le vécu des personnes et des populations et, en définitive, influent sur le résultat escompté des initiatives.

Notre engagement

Saviez-vous que l’ACS+ est reconnue comme compétence clé pour appuyer l'élaboration de programmes et politiques efficaces à l'intention de la population canadienne?

Depuis 1995, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à utiliser l’ACS+ dans l’élaboration de ses politiques, programmes et lois. L’ACS donne aux fonctionnaires fédéraux les moyens d’améliorer constamment leur travail et d’atteindre de meilleurs résultats pour la population canadienne, en les rendant plus sensibles aux circonstances et aux besoins particuliers.

Le gouvernement a récemment renouvelé son engagement envers l’ACS+, et s’efforce de promouvoir l’utilisation de cet outil dans l’ensemble des ministères fédéraux.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’engagement renouvelé du gouvernement et sur sa réponse au Rapport du vérificateur général du Canada (2015) intitulé La mise en œuvre de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, consulter :

GBA+ Logo

Plan d’action sur l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (2016-2020)
Visualiser le Plan d’action en HTML
Visualiser le Plan d’action en PDF

Tout le monde est responsable de l’ACS+

Condition féminine Canada guide la mise en œuvre de l’ACS+ à l’échelle du gouvernement. Toutefois, tous les ministères et organismes gouvernementaux doivent s’engager envers l’application de l’ACS+.

L'ensemble des fonctionnaires fédéraux doit incorporer l’ACS+ dans leur travail en se posant des questions de base et en remettant en question leurs suppositions sur divers groupes de femmes et d’hommes. Grâce à l’application systématique de l’ACS+, les analystes, les chercheuses et chercheurs, les agentes et agents de programme, les évaluatrices et évaluateurs ainsi que d’autres fonctionnaires améliorent constamment leur travail en s’assurant qu’il englobe différents points de vue.

Condition féminine Canada :

  • Facilite le transfert de connaissances en matière d’ACS;
  • Offre de l’aide technique aux ministères et aux organismes;
  • Élabore des outils et de la formation liés à l’ACS.

Organismes centraux :

  • Exercent une fonction d’examen critique;
  • Donnent des conseils sur la manière d’intégrer l’ACS, lorsqu’il y a lieu.

Ministères et organismes fédéraux :

  • Utilisent l’ACS;
  • Intègrent l’ACS+ et en pérennisent la pratique;
  • Surveillent la pratique de l’ACS+ et rendent compte de cette pratique ainsi que des résultats qui en découlent.
Logo de l'ACS+

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les rôles et les responsabilités liés à l’ACS+ à la fonction publique fédérale, consultez le module 4 du cours d’introduction en ligne à l’ACS+.

Date de modification :