Theme 2: Increasing Private Sector Leadership and Investments in Women

To advance gender equality, Status of Women Canada (SWC) has opened a new call for proposals for projects to address the economic security of women in Canada.

“Empowering women to participate fully in economic life across all sectors is essential to build stronger economies, achieve internationally agreed goals for development and sustainability, and improve the quality of life for women, men, families and communities.”

United Nations

The Government of Canada is committed to furthering its partnership with civil society and recognizes the important role of advocacy in furthering our shared goals. Through this call for proposals, organizations will receive funding to implement projects to address the range of institutional barriers (e.g. accessibility of childcare, wage gap, pay inequity) that limit the economic security of women in Canada.

Call Description

With this call for proposals, organizations across the country will implement projects designed to address some of the root causes of economic insecurity for women in Canada (e.g. accessibility of childcare, wage gap, pay inequity).

Achieving gender equality requires the participation of a wide range of actors. This call for proposals is a call to action to equality-seeking organizations to mobilize and work together to find sustainable solutions that meet the lifelong economic security needs of women in Canada.

Projects under this call will engage key stakeholders* across various sectors to implement systemic solutions to improve the economic security of women. Recognizing that systemic issues often intersect, projects that address women’s economic security as it relates to other issues will also be considered (e.g. women’s economic insecurity is both a cause and an outcome of violence against women).

*(e.g. civil society, private sector/sector leaders, professional or industry associations, economic development organizations, training institutions, leading experts, governments, and other relevant partners.)

Is Your Organization the Right Fit?

To be eligible, organizations must have experience working on gender equality issues within the areas of focus of the SWC Women’s Program — increasing women’s economic security and prosperity, encouraging women’s leadership and democratic participation and ending violence against women and girls.

Private sector organizations are not eligible to apply for SWC funding under this call for proposals but are encouraged to participate by partnering with a non-profit organization.

Proposed projects must reflect your organization’s areas of expertise in gender equality issues. Applicants will be assessed on organizational capacity, experience, expertise, and ability to work in partnership.

Potential applicants should read the document Is the Women’s Program the right match for me? and the Eligibility Requirements for additional criteria.

What Your Project Must Do

Over the course of three years, proposed projects must address relevant economic security gender equality issues within the areas of focus of the Women’s Program*. Projects must include – and will be assessed on – the following points:

  • Transforming the environment (e.g. institutions and systems) and addressing systemic barriers that limit the economic security of women in Canada ; and
  • Developing and maintaining active and effective partnerships.

Engage with the private sector directly as a key partner to implement solutions to advance the economic security of women. Work directly with a sector partner or partners to take action to increase private sector leadership and investment in women, taking into consideration opportunities and the sustainability of the measures being implemented:

Examples could include but are not limited to:

  • Directing corporate funds (e.g. social responsibility) towards initiatives to improve women’s economic security (e.g. skills training).

Please note: Delivering training (e.g. financial literacy, skills, leadership, mentorship, occupational or otherwise) to women is not an eligible activity under Theme 1, however organizations may work directly with the private sector to develop such initiatives under Theme 2, if the private sector partner continues funding such initiatives.

For this Call for Proposals, priority will be given to projects with a focus on Theme 2.

For Theme 2, private sector participation is mandatory, so proposed projects must:

  • Be partnership-based;
  • Have secured confirmed partners at the time of application; and
  • Provide a signed participation agreement letter from proposed partner organization(s). This letter must indicate: (a) formal support and participation by the partner organization; (b) defined roles and responsibilities; and (c) confirmed dedicated resources to support sustainability of project outcomes.

*Please consult Women’s Program staff to determine whether a proposed project corresponds with the focus of the Women’s Program and the call for proposals.

Duration

Up to 36 months

Funding Available

Up to $350,000 (regional projects)

Up to $500,000 (national projects)

Planned Call Results

  • Increased visibility and greater recognition of institutional barriers to women's economic security.
  • Action-oriented, projects implemented across the country in support of gender equality and economic security for women in Canada.
  • Stakeholder collaboration to identify gaps, priorities and opportunities and to implement effective solutions to advance women’s economic security.
  • Effective collaborative strategies that leverage current efforts and advance the economic security of women have been developed and implemented with key stakeholders.

Note:

The following deliverables will be required for projects (post approval):

  • Planning tools
  • Progress reports
  • Final Reports

Performance reporting and specific timelines will be determined after the initial application has been approved. Depending on the nature of the proposed projects, additional requirements may apply.

Date modified:

Thème 2 : Mobiliser le secteur privé et augmenter ses investissements dans la cause des femmes

Condition féminine Canada invite les organismes à présenter des propositions de projets en vue de favoriser la sécurité économique des femmes au Canada et, ce faisant, de contribuer au progrès de l’égalité des sexes.

« Donner aux femmes les moyens de participer pleinement à la vie économique dans tous les secteurs est essentiel afin d'édifier des économies solides, de réaliser les objectifs internationaux de développement et de durabilité, et d'améliorer la qualité de vie des femmes, des hommes, des familles et des communautés. »

Nations Unies

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à élargir sa collaboration avec la société civile et reconnaît l’apport immense de la revendication à nos objectifs communs. À l’issue de cet appel de propositions, des organismes recevront des fonds pour mettre en œuvre des projets visant à éliminer l’éventail d’obstacles institutionnels à la sécurité économique des femmes au Canada (p. ex., accessibilité des services de garde d’enfants, disparités et écarts salariaux).

Description de l’appel de propositions

Des organismes un peu partout au pays recevront du financement afin de pouvoir mettre en œuvre des projets qui s’attaquent aux causes premières de l’insécurité économique des femmes au Canada (p. ex., accessibilité des services de garde d’enfants, disparités et écarts salariaux).

La concrétisation de l’égalité entre les sexes exige la participation d’une vaste gamme d’intervenantes et intervenants. Cet appel de propositions invite les organismes œuvrant pour l’égalité des sexes à se mobiliser et à travailler de concert à la recherche de solutions durables, qui répondent au besoin de sécurité économique des Canadiennes tout au long de leur vie.

Les projets financés dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions mobiliseront les principales parties intéressées* de multiples secteurs afin d’apporter des solutions systémiques, de nature à améliorer la sécurité économique des femmes. Reconnaissant que les enjeux systémiques se recoupent souvent, Condition féminine Canada considérera aussi les projets qui abordent l’insécurité économique en rapport avec d’autres enjeux (p. ex., l’insécurité économique des femmes est à la fois une cause et une résultante de la violence faite aux femmes).

* Les parties intéressées peuvent notamment inclure : la société civile, le secteur privé, les principaux acteurs sectoriels, les associations professionnelles ou industrielles, les organismes de développement économique, les établissements de formation, les expertes ou experts de grande renommée, les gouvernements et d’autres partenaires pertinents.

Est-ce que votre organisme se qualifie?

Pour être admissibles, les organismes doivent avoir une certaine expérience des dossiers d’égalité des sexes et, plus particulièrement, des domaines prioritaires du Programme de promotion de la femme, soit : la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes, la participation des femmes à la vie démocratique et leur accès aux postes de responsabilité, ainsi que l’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.

Les organismes du secteur privé ne peuvent pas demander un financement à CFC dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions, mais sont encouragés à participer en s’associant à un organisme sans but lucratif.

Les projets proposés doivent concorder avec le savoir-faire de l’organisme demandeur. L’évaluation des propositions tiendra compte de ses capacités, de son expérience et de son savoir-faire, y compris de ses habiletés à créer et à maintenir des partenariats.

Les organismes qui souhaitent présenter une demande de financement en réponse à cet appel de propositions peuvent se familiariser avec les autres critères à remplir en lisant les documents suivants : Le Programme de promotion de la femme est-il le bon choix pour moi? et Critères généraux d’admissibilité du Programme de promotion de la femme.

Ce que votre projet doit réaliser

D’une durée de trois ans, les projets proposés chercheront à améliorer l’égalité des sexes en ciblant les obstacles qui affectent la sécurité économique des femmes dans l’un ou l’autre des domaines prioritaires du Programme de promotion de la femme*.

Ils doivent inclure les éléments ci-dessous, qui feront l’objet d’une évaluation :

  • Transformer l’environnement (p. ex., les institutions et les systèmes) et travailler à éliminer des obstacles systémiques qui limitent l’accès des femmes à la sécurité économique au Canada;
  • Créer et entretenir des partenariats dynamiques et efficaces.

Faire du secteur privé un partenaire clé de l’amélioration de la sécurité économique des femmes. Travailler directement avec un ou plusieurs partenaires du privé à l’adoption de mesures durables visant à mobiliser le secteur privé et augmenter ses investissements dans la cause des femmes, compte tenu des possibilités existantes.

Voici un exemple de projet possible :

  • Affecter des fonds de l’entreprise (p. ex. des fonds du poste « responsabilité sociale ») à des initiatives qui ont pour but d’améliorer la sécurité économique des femmes (p. ex., par l’acquisition de compétences).

Veuillez noter que les activités de formation des femmes (p. ex., éducation financière, acquisition de compétences, apprentissage du pouvoir, mentorat, formation professionnelle ou autres) ne sont pas admissibles à un financement dans le cadre du thème 1. Cependant, pour le thème 2, un organisme pourrait collaborer directement avec le secteur privé à l’élaboration d’initiatives de ce genre dans la mesure où le partenaire continuera de financer ces initiatives par la suite.

Dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions, Condition féminine Canada privilégiera les projets soumis sous le thème 2.

La participation du secteur privé est obligatoire pour le thème 2, c'est-à-dire qu’il faut :

  • présenter un projet reposant sur le partenariat;
  • disposer de partenaires confirmés au moment de la demande;
  • fournir un accord de participation signé par le ou les partenaires précisant : a) l’appui et la participation formels de l’organisme partenaire; b) les rôles et responsabilités définis; c) les ressources qui seront consacrées à la pérennisation des résultats du projet.

*Veuillez consulter le personnel du Programme de promotion de la femme pour déterminer si le projet que vous voulez proposer cadre avec les priorités du Programme et les objectifs du présent appel de propositions.

Durée des projets

Jusqu’à 36 mois

Fonds disponibles

Jusqu’à 350 000 $ (projets régionaux)

Jusqu’à 500 000 $ (projets nationaux)

Résultats escomptés

  • Reconnaissance et visibilité accrues des obstacles institutionnels à la sécurité économique des femmes.
  • Mise en œuvre de projets axés sur l’action qui appuient l’égalité des sexes et la sécurité économique des femmes au Canada.
  • Collaboration avec les parties intéressées pour déterminer les lacunes, les priorités et les possibilités, ainsi que pour mettre en œuvre des solutions efficaces qui améliorent la sécurité économique des femmes.
  • De concert avec les principales parties intéressées, on a conçu et mis en œuvre des stratégies de collaboration efficaces pour tirer profit des efforts actuels et rehausser la sécurité économique des femmes.

Note:

Les livrables suivants seront requis (après l’approbation des projets) :

  • Outils de planification;
  • Rapports d’étape;
  • Rapport final.

Les échéanciers et les exigences en matière de rapports seront précisés suivant l’approbation du projet. Selon la nature des projets proposés, d’autres exigences pourraient être ajoutées.

Date de modification :