About the Awards

About the Awards

In 1929, after two years of legal debate, Canada's highest court of appeal declared that the word "person" included both women and men. The decision was made by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of Great Britain and made it possible for women to serve in the Senate. It also paved the way for women's increased participation in public and political life. The case had been brought before the courts in 1927 by five Alberta women who became known as the "Famous Five." The case became known as the Persons Case.

The Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case were created in 1979 to mark the 50th anniversary of the groundbreaking Persons Case, which changed the course of history for women in Canada.

This year, five recipients, including one from the youth category (15 to 30 years of age), have been chosen from across Canada.

Recipients of these Awards continue the tradition of courage, integrity and hard work that the Famous Five of the Persons Case inspired.

These awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the goal of equality for women and girls in Canada. Recipients come from all parts of the country and from all walks of life.

Learn more about the jury and the awards' policy

Date modified:

Au sujet des prix

Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne »

En 1929, après deux ans de débats juridiques, la plus haute cour d'appel du Canada - le Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres (en Angleterre) - a déclaré que le mot « personne » pouvait désigner aussi bien une femme qu'un homme. La décision a ouvert les portes du Sénat aux femmes et a préparé le terrain à leur participation accrue à la vie publique et politique. Si les Canadiennes en sont arrivées là, c'est grâce aux démarches entreprises en 1927 par cinq Albertaines, qu'on n'a pas tardé à surnommer les Célèbres cinq. Leur combat judiciaire est connu depuis comme l'affaire « personne ».

Cinquante ans plus tard, en 1979, le gouvernement du Canada a institué les Prix du gouverneur général en commémoration de l'affaire« personne » afin de souligner ce tournant majeur dans l'histoire des femmes au Canada.

Cette année, cinq prix sont décernés à des récipiendaires d'un peu partout au Canada. L’un d’eux est un prix jeunesse (pour les 15 à 30 ans).

Les récipiendaires des prix perpétuent la tradition de courage, d'intégrité et de détermination des Célèbres cinq au cœur de l'affaire « personne »;.

Les prix rendent hommage à des gens qui ont contribué d'une façon exceptionnelle à la promotion de l'égalité des sexes au Canada. Les récipiendaires proviennent de tous les horizons et de toutes les régions du pays.

En apprendre davantage au sujet du jury et de la politique.

Date modified: